Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent! Sauteed veggies in olive oil before adding to soup - my husband loved it too - served it with a multigrain artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great low cal! Good filler 100 cal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Overall a great soup, but I had to add about a cup and a half more of chicken stock to make it more like a soup than a chille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very yummy! I did make a few changes. I used a packet of frozen soup vegetables since I didn't have any fresh carrots or celery. I also used more cabbage than called for and left out the sugar and basil. The soup is so good and cozy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was really good! I also did not preboil the lentils since so many had good results without this step. It worked out fine. I doubled the garlic and the lentils. I did have to add some water, needed more liquid. Next time I may add more tomatoes or broth. I really liked the flavor combination of the seasonings. It had a somewhat Italian flavor with a bit of extra kick from the curry powder. But I would not consider it hot or spicey. It was good with a sprinkle of parmesan-yum! I also used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes to save time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a great soup that can be adjusted for each persons taste. I doubled the and added 4 cups additional broth to give it a more soup consistency, per other reviewers. I used 2 fresh tomatoes diced, I would use more next time and I used 3 TBSP garlic, but the garlic needs to be crushed in order to be tasted I think so I would use whole clove crushed next time. I added 1/2 tsp chili powder, and it adds a nice kick. Next time I think I would use cayenne instead. I will make this next time with out the extra salt, as the broth adds enough. delicious. made this in a slow cooker on high for 3 hours, came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
great and easy. I added barley and didn't add the cabbage... added a few extra cups of chicken stock. really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
LOVED this! Used red lentils. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
A wonderful dish. I made this in a slow cooker, and it had to cook on high for about 8 hours. I accidentally used 2 tsp of curry powder instead of 1, but everything else was exactly as per the recipe. I loved it, and so did my husband. I did have to precook the lentils as the recipe says, but I did that while chopping all of the veggies. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Good, but needed a little more spices. I followed recipe exactly as written. When I served it I added a hot pepper paste my mom makes. Kids loved it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Aviles LaFrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States