Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent! Sauteed veggies in olive oil before adding to soup - my husband loved it too - served it with a multigrain artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great low cal! Good filler 100 cal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Overall a great soup, but I had to add about a cup and a half more of chicken stock to make it more like a soup than a chille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very yummy! I did make a few changes. I used a packet of frozen soup vegetables since I didn't have any fresh carrots or celery. I also used more cabbage than called for and left out the sugar and basil. The soup is so good and cozy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was really good! I also did not preboil the lentils since so many had good results without this step. It worked out fine. I doubled the garlic and the lentils. I did have to add some water, needed more liquid. Next time I may add more tomatoes or broth. I really liked the flavor combination of the seasonings. It had a somewhat Italian flavor with a bit of extra kick from the curry powder. But I would not consider it hot or spicey. It was good with a sprinkle of parmesan-yum! I also used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes to save time. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a great soup that can be adjusted for each persons taste. I doubled the and added 4 cups additional broth to give it a more soup consistency, per other reviewers. I used 2 fresh tomatoes diced, I would use more next time and I used 3 TBSP garlic, but the garlic needs to be crushed in order to be tasted I think so I would use whole clove crushed next time. I added 1/2 tsp chili powder, and it adds a nice kick. Next time I think I would use cayenne instead. I will make this next time with out the extra salt, as the broth adds enough. delicious. made this in a slow cooker on high for 3 hours, came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
great and easy. I added barley and didn't add the cabbage... added a few extra cups of chicken stock. really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
LOVED this! Used red lentils. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
A wonderful dish. I made this in a slow cooker, and it had to cook on high for about 8 hours. I accidentally used 2 tsp of curry powder instead of 1, but everything else was exactly as per the recipe. I loved it, and so did my husband. I did have to precook the lentils as the recipe says, but I did that while chopping all of the veggies. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Good, but needed a little more spices. I followed recipe exactly as written. When I served it I added a hot pepper paste my mom makes. Kids loved it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States