Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Placed it in the slow cooker on high after boiling the lentils, and left it there for 4 hours! Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Even 1/4t of curry powder was too much for us! I added more chicken stock to dilute the curry flavor, and that worked well. This is a thick soup, more like a stew. Easy recipe for crockpot - 8 hours on low cooked all the veggies and raw lentils through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I had to omit cabbage & carrots because I didn't have those ingredients on hand. I added chicken and a can of rotel (tomato & corn) and it was absolutely delicious. I have made this soup on more than one occasion and it is consistently satisfying. I have substituted beef broth for chicken broth and added potatoes, depending on what I have on hand. It's really hard to mess this soup up, each tweek was as delicious as the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Healthy, economical and easy. I threw it all in the crockpot for about 10 hours on low and it could have stayed even longer. A little bland but some added hot sauce did the trick. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is great over a bowl of rice, and an inexpensive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I try new recipes every week and this one is a keeper. It's truly tasty in spite of being soooo healthy (cabbage is of the cruciferous veggie group that prevents cancer; lentils help lower cholesterol because they have soluble fiber, which is hard to find). I cooked the onions in a little oil until very soft, then sauteed the carrots and celery a few minutes as well, before adding to the soup. I also used 2 14 oz cans diced tomatoes and 1 28 ounce can whole stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I cooked this in my crockpot on high for about 3 hours. I don't like cooked tomatoes so I subbed 1 diced sweet potato. I had a cabbage but really needed to use up my bag of coleslaw which was so much easier too! I found the soup to be bland and had to add more of the spices. We still felt like the soup was lacking, so I diced up 1 link of beef sausage & cooked it on the stovetop, then adding to crockpot. The sausage really brought the soup together for us and now I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Quite possibly the best soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very hearty and delicious. Best when made in slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
really enjoyed for low calorie soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States