Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Picked this because I was looking for a slow-cooker soup with lentils, and this seemed easy and potentially good. Was pleasantly surprised by the amount of flavor! And that the vegetables kept some texture, even after being in a slow-cooker all day! Followed some of the modification suggestions, but thought that I'd need to add some hot sauce, or Worchestershire, or SOMETHING to boost the flavor before serving - didn't need to. And I love that with minor modifications I can make this fully vegetarian (even vegan, I think), and low-sodium. Now I just hope it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Gosh, I hate to be the first to give a bad review, but I just didn't like this recipe at all. I followed all the instructions - just used homemade turkey stock instead of chicken broth - and still wasn't a fan of this soup. It seemed there was something severely missing. My son didn't like it either. I'm giving it 3 stars because my husband, who really enjoys cabbage, liked it and ate 3 servings of it, so for fairness' sake I at least need to give it something - it could just be me, you know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicious! I added some extra veggies, especially cabbge (I'm obsessed!0 but even as is I'm sure it would still be a great soup. Oh and like some other readers suggested, I sauteed the onion, carrots and celery for a few minutes before putting them in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I agree that the lentils don't need to pre-cook. If you cook them first (as the recipe instructs), and then add them to the vegetables while they cook,, the lentils will be mushy. Better to cook the lentils and vegetables all at the same time. This soup is a little bland, but any cook can spice it up according to their preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great vegetarian soup. The flavors were even better the next day. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was surprisingly good. Next time I may double the recipe to have more leftovers... it cooks down quite a bit. I let if in my slowcooker for about 6 hours - 4 on high, 2 on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
WOW! Love it, hubby loved it. My hubby said do not lose this recipe :) Just finished a bowl. What I did differently was saute the onions, celery, carrots, and garlic in dutch oven til translucent. Added remaining ingredients (used only one can diced tomatoes). Did not preboil lentils. Had to add 3 more cups broth (2 cups not enough). Cooked for 1 hour maybe little longer. Excellent. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Wonderful soup!This was the first time my husband has tried lentils.He fell in love with the whole thing.Recipe is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staycie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is very good! I rinsed and drained the lentils, but skipped the boiling. I then cooked this on high for 5 hours in a slow cooker and the lentils were plenty done. The spices were perfect. Nothing is worse than bland lentils, but this was tasty! I also added some chopped zucchini and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Placed it in the slow cooker on high after boiling the lentils, and left it there for 4 hours! Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States