Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful!!!!!!! I followed the advice of another review by making the recipe with more lentils and liquids and it lasted us for several meals. We love to heat up soup for lunch with a grilled cheese sandwich or bread during the cold winter months. Here is the review that I followed: "to take out some of the starch I rinsed & drained the lentils. I followed the amount of ingredients suggested by the tool except for these items: 1 1/2 c green lentils & 1/2 c red lentils, 3 stalks celery, 1 large onion, 4 c chicken broth & 6 cup veg. broth, many more cloves garlic 1/2 crushed 1/2 chopped, finally 1 tsp hot curry powder."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written (I used green lentils and boiled the soup for 1 hr). Yum-a-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This recipe has potential, but for our tastes, we'll try a different, more filling recipe next time. I doubled the lentils, broth and spices and it still wasn't filling enough. Already the teenager is looking for something else to eat. Thanks for the different recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
On of the family fav's. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
A good hearty soup. Rather plain but certainly one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Just made this for the first time today and enjoyed 2 big bowls for lunch. This soup is amazing! I have never even had lentils before but had just bought some to try. Tweaked the recipe to what i had on hand and prepared the lentils as directed beforehand. After 2 hours on high in crockpot the soup was still 'al dente' and no mushiness at all. Skipped the sugar - it doesn't need it with the carrots, added one zucchini squash sliced into crescents, replaced the whole tomatoes with 2 smaller cans of diced tomotoes. Had no celery but added celery salt (and skipped the extra salt) Did not add any cabbage. Added a little extra broth 1/3 cup maybe. The smell wafting in my house was fabulous - couldn't wait to dig in. Easy, low fat, low sugar and high fiber - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I love this soup! Great flavor, tons of veggies, and it only lasts us about 2 days before it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good soup and it really develops a nice flavor after a few days! I never get tired of this soup. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I love this soup so much I made a second batch immediately! I wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Absolutely loved! Super filling. I didn't have any carrots or cabbage, but it turned out great without. I did add some frozen mixed veggies at the end, doubled the spices, and didn't add the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States