Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Pretty good, but I would leave out the thyme, increase the curry and add more spices, maybe coriander and tumeric. I added chopped jalepeno's for a little more spice. I would also like to try adding a yam, cubed, and maybe even a white potato too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
great quick healthy soup. i think i'll double the lentils next time (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this tonight for the first time and my dh & I both loved it. I added about cup & a half of chopped turkey that we had leftover from Christmas, but other than that I followed it exactly (which isn't like me). I'll definitely be making this again this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maynegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Was actually looking for something along the lines of a cabbage soup/chicken soup but tried this recipe. I am not a fan of "traditional" vegetable soups w/ an emphasis on tomato based ingredients. I should have omitted the tomatoes in this recipe but the lentils(s)/lentil flavored helped a tremendously. After reading the other reviews, I: used more lentils 2.5 - 3 cups [whole pkg], did not pre cook them [just rinsed well], did not use any water -- 4 cups of f/free chicken broth and threw in a dash more or so of the dry ingredients -- everything on the slow cooker for about 6 hours. The lentils were perfect. Soup actually tasted better the day after, as leftovers. Husband really liked it. I will make it again but omit the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I made this in my slow cooker. Had to add a lot more spice or else it would have been pretty tasteless! Just alright the first day, but much tastier on the 2nd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I add a few more carrots than the recipe calls for, but this is the perfect veggie soup, and tastes best the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
If you want to speed up the chopping - I use a bag of Cole-Slaw mix. Works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This soup is incredibly good! I myself made some changes, but it was an excellent start for a newbie to lentil soup! I omitted curry powder (maybe next time), had no tomatoes of any kind other than paste (oh i wish i had, they would have been great), and used some cauliflower and red skinned potatoes. I also used fresh herbs instead of dried, but either is quite good. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Wow! Just to yummy for words! Super easy to make -I used my crock pot and the whole house smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this last night & used the scaling tool to double the recipe. I knew that 6 1-cup servings would not leave much leftovers. I did not precook the lentils as suggested - altho to take out some of the starch I rinsed & drained the lentils. I followed the amount of ingredients suggested by the tool except for these items: 1 1/2 c green lentils & 1/2 c red lentils, 3 stalks celery, 1 large onion, 4 c chicken broth & 6 cup veg. broth, many more cloves garlic 1/2 crushed 1/2 chopped, finally 1 tsp hot curry powder. We wanted this to be a soup as opposed to a stew so the increase of the liquid did this. The inrease in garlic and curry powder is to satisfy our personal tastes (was not too hot, but seemed to pull everything together). With a little tweaking to each persons taste,I believe that this Soup can become a mainstay for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States