Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
This is a delicious soup and quick to prepare if you have a chopper. I am looking for good tasting healthy recipes and this fills the bill 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I really liked this soup! It did need a little extra liquid, so I added some water part way through. The flavor is great, and it's so easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This soup was very good, although a little bit too spicy for me. Next time I will eliminate the pepper and add more lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I found this to be a very good soup. However, I made a few changes because I wanted to make a lot. So I used 1 1/2 cups Lentils, 3 celery, 2 garlic cloves, added 2 14 oz cans of petite diced tomato's with Jalapeno's for some zest, a whole head of cabbage, 6 carrots, 5 cups of organic free-range chicken broth, and 4 cups of water. I dbl'd the spices and added a Greek-Allspice. I ended up with a big, delicious, pot of Lentil's and veggi's. Wonderful, healthy, and low in fat. Cant go wrong with that!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very hearty soup. I was never a lover of lentils, but this recipe has changed my mind. As simple a recipe as you would like. I also will try playing with the seasonings a little the next time I make this. This recipe lends itself to that kind of experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Tripp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I've never made lentil soup before, and this turned out great. I used a can of diced tomatos to save time chopping and it was perfect. Using my food processor made this recipe a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Good soup. It reminded me of beef vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Very nice. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was a big hit with everyone in my family. It was very easy and the sort of meal where anything goes...I used brown lentils, diced tomato, no curry powder, etc. It's the lovely sort of soup where you can through in just about any kind of vegetable. I'm not usually a big lentil or vegetable soup fan, but this was surprisingly good. The leftovers were good for lunch the next day too although there wasn't a whole lot of broth left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Loved it! After 45 minutes of simmering I added another 2 cups of chicken broth and fresh cracked black pepper. I then simmered for another 45 and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIEMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States