Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I found this to be a very good soup. However, I made a few changes because I wanted to make a lot. So I used 1 1/2 cups Lentils, 3 celery, 2 garlic cloves, added 2 14 oz cans of petite diced tomato's with Jalapeno's for some zest, a whole head of cabbage, 6 carrots, 5 cups of organic free-range chicken broth, and 4 cups of water. I dbl'd the spices and added a Greek-Allspice. I ended up with a big, delicious, pot of Lentil's and veggi's. Wonderful, healthy, and low in fat. Cant go wrong with that!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I changed the ingredients a little using 1 cup of mixed red and green lentils,2 overflowing cups of cabbage, diced canned tomates and 4 cups of broth. All other ingredients were the same. I did not preboil the lentils. I cooked the onion, carrots and celery in 1 tbsp of oil for five minutes then added the remaining ingredients and simmered covered for one hour. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is a great soup! If you don't undercook the lentils they break up and just give it a 'meaty' texture. I doubled the chicken stock to make it less stew-like and more soup-like and added a couple tablespoons of fresh parsley. It's easy to make, low-fat and low-calorie, and so yummy you forget it's good for you. Definately a staple to keep on hand for munching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
i did this in the slow cooker for 6 hours and it could have used another 2-3. . . too crunchy still but very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this last night & used the scaling tool to double the recipe. I knew that 6 1-cup servings would not leave much leftovers. I did not precook the lentils as suggested - altho to take out some of the starch I rinsed & drained the lentils. I followed the amount of ingredients suggested by the tool except for these items: 1 1/2 c green lentils & 1/2 c red lentils, 3 stalks celery, 1 large onion, 4 c chicken broth & 6 cup veg. broth, many more cloves garlic 1/2 crushed 1/2 chopped, finally 1 tsp hot curry powder. We wanted this to be a soup as opposed to a stew so the increase of the liquid did this. The inrease in garlic and curry powder is to satisfy our personal tastes (was not too hot, but seemed to pull everything together). With a little tweaking to each persons taste,I believe that this Soup can become a mainstay for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Yum yum yum! This is a really nice vegetable soup. Flavors are great, not to mention that it is healthy and cheap. I used 4 fresh tomatoes instead of canned (canned have citric acid - I'm allergic). Because the fresh tomatoes are sweeter than canned I would leave the sugar out when using fresh. We had this for dinner with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
This is a delicious soup and quick to prepare if you have a chopper. I am looking for good tasting healthy recipes and this fills the bill 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Excellent soup! The curry gave it a little bite, but the flavor was nice, and it had a nice 'meaty' texture. I didn't bother to precook the lentils, used chopped tomatoes, and doubled the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I've never made lentil soup before, and this turned out great. I used a can of diced tomatos to save time chopping and it was perfect. Using my food processor made this recipe a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I really liked this soup! It did need a little extra liquid, so I added some water part way through. The flavor is great, and it's so easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States