Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Fantastic! It's only August here, but it's already feeling like November and this really warmed us up. I skipped the onions, added a bit more cabbage, and upped the chicken broth to about 4 cups. I stuck everything in the slow cooker and cooked it on low for about 8 hours. Great flavor and everything was cooked to perfection. I will make this again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was so good. I added a diced potato and an extra half cup of lentils. I simmered it for 1 hour and it was done, just right. I just had a huge bowl and wished I was still hungry so I could eat more. Thanks for this easy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
okay..I am writing this review on this soup with only.. just tasting a spoonful,because it is simmering on the stove now..My whole house smells sooo good it was very easy to put together and it looks so good.I will post a FULL review after it's done..later..ok...it was delicous..the only changes I made was I used stewed tomatoes..and I had to add at least a cup more on chix broth...it is a keeper...thanks for the post..dont leave out the curry it really makes the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was a very tasty soup...it usually has to be exceptional for me to give a 5...it's not exceptional but I'm giving it a 5 because it is very tasty AND healthy which is sometimes difficult to find. I boiled and shredded 2 chicken breasts for some added protein and have been enjoying the left overs all week! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was yummy and filling, I skipped teh salt and celery (don't like) and added a tsp of celery salt. Also used double chicken broth and 1 cup of water. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Really tasty. I used one cup of lentils and added more broth and the curry adds a nice warmth without being too spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I was suprised at how good this soup was. I did not add the sugar, but did cook with a package of skinless, boneless chicken thighs, which shredded easily into the soup when it was done. Very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very good I doubled the recipe and the leftovers were even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Pretty good, but I would leave out the thyme, increase the curry and add more spices, maybe coriander and tumeric. I added chopped jalepeno's for a little more spice. I would also like to try adding a yam, cubed, and maybe even a white potato too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
great quick healthy soup. i think i'll double the lentils next time (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States