Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
excellent and very quick to make. everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This soup was great. I used 8 yucon golds and 8 cups of broth, added a little salt and pureed the whole thing. When I put it back in the pot I added the cheese. Even better the next day. Awesome. Thanks Sassa!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I agreed with a few other readers that the recipe would be a bit bland. Here are my modifications I used clarified butter (ghee) instead of butter, I used red potatoes... these are small, so 3 for every one of the russets. I added whole cumin and tumeric powderto the first step. I also added about 8 oz of finely chopped mushrooms. Turned out great. I will serve it with some shredded chicken for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made some alterations, based on other reviews and also made it vegetarian. I added one extra leek, sauteed one chopped stalk of celery, one bay leaf & 4 cloves minced garlic with the onion mixture (instead of adding the garlic powder later), and substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I crock potted the potatoes beforehand and reduced the simmering time for the cooked potatoes with the vegetable broth and onion mixture to 10 min to let the flavors combine. I did not add the cheese to the soup so that it could be optional, but for my bowl, I added shredded sharp cheddar cheese and garlic croutons as a garnish. Very hearty and warm for a winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
We loved this soup! We only added two cups of diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
mild but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I like it. I had leftover leeks in the fridge that needed to be used up right away so this was good. The only thing I did different was that I mashed up the potatoes as it got softer in the pot and since I didn't have half&half, I used milk and 1-2 Tbs. of flour and simmered until it got really thick. I also added some sliced mushrooms as well and only sprinkled a handful of cheese on top. Overall, it turned out great! I ate it with plain bread. Thanks; now I know how to make leek and potato soup. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by missyanne724
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We loved this soup with a few minor changes! We added fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and also used the immersion blender once everything was done cooking so it was a thicker soup. We paired it with a ciabatta grilled cheese sandwich and it was a great dinner! Perfect for colder weather! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious. Used veggie stock instead of chicken broth, fresh garlic instead of powdered, and added a drizzle of truffle oil on top, as another reviewer suggested. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is awesome!! I added Ham and Brocolli and it was a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States