Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Super easy and very delicious. I added a bay leaf, fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, omitted the parsley, added a celery stalk and used 3 leeks as that's what I had and I didn't want to waste the 3rd in case I didn't get around to making more soup. I didn't have to add any salt at all as there was more than enough salt from adding the chicken stock. Great recipe! I look forward to making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
the cheese crumbled and curdled in the broth. i've never had success mixing cheese and water. maybe if it was done as a cream soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icefirestorm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very "comforting" - plus, not fussy: adjust quantities if desired and season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Pretty yummy. I'm interested in adding real bacon bits as a garnish at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I does need the garlic. Also, I used 3 leeks and added an extra potato. I like the soup creamy, so I held off on the cheese and put it through a blender to get it nice and creamy. Then I sprinkled the cheese on top - super!! Might try it with some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought this was good but a little bland. I put a spash of tobassco in it to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very tasty. Had to substitute milk for the half & half as that's what was on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snelson1077

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I’m a big fan of potato leek soup. This was good, but did not have the deep robust leek flavor that I look for in a leek soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my this was yummy! I loved pretty much everything about it. The only thing is next time I might add a little bit of fresh garlic when the Leeks saute and I might add more leeks (i'm a leek nut). I might add a little more half and half and cheese next time. It was a little on the runnier side. Tasted amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA8402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great! Simple, easy and much more delicious than one might think. Added ham, and almost forgot the salt, pepper and garlic powder because it tasted so good without them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States