Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
mild but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I like it. I had leftover leeks in the fridge that needed to be used up right away so this was good. The only thing I did different was that I mashed up the potatoes as it got softer in the pot and since I didn't have half&half, I used milk and 1-2 Tbs. of flour and simmered until it got really thick. I also added some sliced mushrooms as well and only sprinkled a handful of cheese on top. Overall, it turned out great! I ate it with plain bread. Thanks; now I know how to make leek and potato soup. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by missyanne724
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
We loved this soup with a few minor changes! We added fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and also used the immersion blender once everything was done cooking so it was a thicker soup. We paired it with a ciabatta grilled cheese sandwich and it was a great dinner! Perfect for colder weather! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious. Used veggie stock instead of chicken broth, fresh garlic instead of powdered, and added a drizzle of truffle oil on top, as another reviewer suggested. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is awesome!! I added Ham and Brocolli and it was a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is a simple, basic leek and potato soup, unencumbered by a lot of unnecessary and distracting extra ingredients. Leeks, potatoes, chicken broth and a little milk or cream is really all you need and that’s what you get here. Still, I wanted a more pronounced leek flavor so I doubled up on that. While the potatoes were cooking I threw in a bay leaf and a good pinch of fresh thyme just to brighten the flavor. I used fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder and skipped the parsley and cheddar cheese. When the soup was done I pureed it in a flash with my immersion blender. A drizzle of good white truffle oil took this soup from excellent to sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by FrancineL
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Great soup with slight modifications. I sautéed leeks and onions with 4 pressed garlic cloves instead of using powder. When simmering potatoes, I added 1 large bay leaf and pepper. We didn't add any salt and instead of using "store bought", I used my homemade chicken broth. I also used an immersion blender to make it smooth. We didn't use any Cheddar cheese but we will next time when we serve it. Thank you Sassa, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Kids loved it. I did all the modifications suggested in the first review, and my kids gave it a 9 out of 10. It doesn't get much better than that for kids and vegetables. Oh, and I only used skimmed milk instead of Half and Half, and extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This soup was wonderful. I didn't measure anything so I am unable to comment on the proportions. I did add a little bit of dill and next time I think I will have to take some other suggestions and add some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Super easy and very delicious. I added a bay leaf, fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, omitted the parsley, added a celery stalk and used 3 leeks as that's what I had and I didn't want to waste the 3rd in case I didn't get around to making more soup. I didn't have to add any salt at all as there was more than enough salt from adding the chicken stock. Great recipe! I look forward to making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States