Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This soup was excellent. We puréed 3/4 of it at the end. And we used Kraft Habanero Heat shredded cheese and light (5%) cream And I added a bit of chopped garlic to the leeks and onions. With a ciabatta roll and a salad, it was a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Amazing! Substitutions I used was used chicken broth, cut down the salt to 1/2tsp or so and put maybe 1/4 cup of 1/2 and 1/2. Wonderful soup--perfect started soup could eat as is or add all kinds of yummy additions. I added chicken apple sausage... THANKS! This recipe is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Shadix-Carroll
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I just made Winter Leek & Potato Soup for the first time ever & it is phenomenal! The only things I did different were to add only one lg. leek & I added two packets of Goya to give it a smoked ham flavor. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I make this whenever the leeks in the grocery look especially enticing. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Densieski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made this just tonight. I did one thing different, otherwise followed as written. I dredged some thinly sliced scallions in some flour and sautéed them in olive oil till crispy. I then used those for a topping when serving. Everyone here loved this hearty soup. I might add some carrots and/or corn next time. Even some pieces of chicken might be good. You could pump this up to be a chowder, more than a soup. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is really an excellent soup. The only thing I did different is purée it at the end. Super yummy for a cold, dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've never ate or used leeks before, but I received some in my CSA box last week. Easy recipe. I made a few seasoning changes and didn't have cream (whole milk & butter). Even my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wonderful soup! I made it exactly like the recipe and my family loved it. I also love the fact it's on the table in just an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this recipe when I saw it in allrecipe magazine. I made it exactly the way the recipe said except for using 8 ounces of cheddar and a little heartier amount of parsley and garlic powder. It wasn't super flavorful and the potatoes got kind of mushy (hence only four stars), but it did taste good and my husband really liked it, especially since I crumbled some bacon on top to give it a little more flavor and texture. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious. Make it as suggested but I freeze it without the cheese & half & half. Add those ingredients just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States