Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wonderful soup! I made it exactly like the recipe and my family loved it. I also love the fact it's on the table in just an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this recipe when I saw it in allrecipe magazine. I made it exactly the way the recipe said except for using 8 ounces of cheddar and a little heartier amount of parsley and garlic powder. It wasn't super flavorful and the potatoes got kind of mushy (hence only four stars), but it did taste good and my husband really liked it, especially since I crumbled some bacon on top to give it a little more flavor and texture. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious. Make it as suggested but I freeze it without the cheese & half & half. Add those ingredients just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe has a good base; leeks, potatoes & onions. There is absolutely no need for butter, cream or salt. All you need is a soup pot or a slow cooker; add leeks, potatoes, garlic, pepper, vegetable or chicken broth, nutmeg, ground gloves and 4 pears (peeled). Let it cook until the potatoes are soft, take a hand held blender & blend until smooth. No added fat or salt - lets face it we do not need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is my favorite potato soup recipe because it is easy. I used a whole onion since I didn't have leeks. Used jack cheese because that is what was on hand. Fabulous soup. Served with hard rolls. Can't be beat. Throw some bacon bits in it and voila...heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
4 stars as written. I added 1 cup chopped celery and 4 minced garlic cloves (instead of the powder) to the leak and onion mixture before cooking. Very tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe yesterday & it really was good. I used fresh garlic rather than powder & red potatoes, which I didn't peel. It could have used a little more salt but I go light on it anyway. Even my 17 year old who likes nothing had 2 bowls. The only thing I may change next time is I may add bacon to it. I think it would taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
excellent and very quick to make. everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This soup was great. I used 8 yucon golds and 8 cups of broth, added a little salt and pureed the whole thing. When I put it back in the pot I added the cheese. Even better the next day. Awesome. Thanks Sassa!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States