Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I avoid dairy so instead of the half and half i puréed a cup of Cannelli beans with a little water. Worked great, was very creamy. Also the beans added fiber and protein, rounding out the nutrition profile well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Fabulous soup. Added my own twist: instead of butter I added olive oil, that I have bottled with spices. Also added grated garlic and feta cheese with fresh parsley to serve. A definite hit in my house. My husband just had it again for lunch. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This soup is just splendid. I added extra potatoes and another leek, and it was delicious. The leek flavor was more pronounced than I expected which paired wonderfully with the potato. I also didn't make it entirely smooth since I like some chunks of potato. Very comforting and simple. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
So where does it say to purée these ingredients?? The pic curtain,u looks like its a puréed soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Stuck to the recipe but was disappointed in the flavor. Was too mild for my tastes, although I'm sure many people love it that way. I doctored it up some, added thyme, some seasoned salt, more black pepper, additional chicken soup base, and a light sprinkling of cayenne (not enough to make it spicy). I liked it better then, but ugh the soup broke. Obviously my fault not the recipes, I must have let it simmer too hard after adding the half-and-half. Using heavy cream makes that less likely to happen, but I should have been more watchful. I'll revisit this recipe with the added herbs and real garlic, perhaps celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
It was absolutely awesome. I would add bacon in the future, just because the flavour would fit so well with the others in this recipe. I'll using this lovely again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Schreiner
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Love it added a pinch of turmeric to it for added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Schreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
To all of you kind and wonderful cooks who tried this soup (which was passed on to me by my late mother-in-law), I want to thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. It is most gratifying. And I can't tell the editors of this marvelous cooking site how honored I was to have it posted in the last issue of the AllRecipes magazine. Thank you all! Happy holidays and a healthy New Year. From Sassa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Bacon or ham I will add next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup was awesome. I changed out the cheese for bacon however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States