Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe has a good base; leeks, potatoes & onions. There is absolutely no need for butter, cream or salt. All you need is a soup pot or a slow cooker; add leeks, potatoes, garlic, pepper, vegetable or chicken broth, nutmeg, ground gloves and 4 pears (peeled). Let it cook until the potatoes are soft, take a hand held blender & blend until smooth. No added fat or salt - lets face it we do not need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is my favorite potato soup recipe because it is easy. I used a whole onion since I didn't have leeks. Used jack cheese because that is what was on hand. Fabulous soup. Served with hard rolls. Can't be beat. Throw some bacon bits in it and voila...heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
4 stars as written. I added 1 cup chopped celery and 4 minced garlic cloves (instead of the powder) to the leak and onion mixture before cooking. Very tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Tried this recipe yesterday & it really was good. I used fresh garlic rather than powder & red potatoes, which I didn't peel. It could have used a little more salt but I go light on it anyway. Even my 17 year old who likes nothing had 2 bowls. The only thing I may change next time is I may add bacon to it. I think it would taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
excellent and very quick to make. everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This soup was great. I used 8 yucon golds and 8 cups of broth, added a little salt and pureed the whole thing. When I put it back in the pot I added the cheese. Even better the next day. Awesome. Thanks Sassa!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I agreed with a few other readers that the recipe would be a bit bland. Here are my modifications I used clarified butter (ghee) instead of butter, I used red potatoes... these are small, so 3 for every one of the russets. I added whole cumin and tumeric powderto the first step. I also added about 8 oz of finely chopped mushrooms. Turned out great. I will serve it with some shredded chicken for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made some alterations, based on other reviews and also made it vegetarian. I added one extra leek, sauteed one chopped stalk of celery, one bay leaf & 4 cloves minced garlic with the onion mixture (instead of adding the garlic powder later), and substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I crock potted the potatoes beforehand and reduced the simmering time for the cooked potatoes with the vegetable broth and onion mixture to 10 min to let the flavors combine. I did not add the cheese to the soup so that it could be optional, but for my bowl, I added shredded sharp cheddar cheese and garlic croutons as a garnish. Very hearty and warm for a winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
We loved this soup! We only added two cups of diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States