Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
love the soup, but I think it's missing a step at the end. gotta puree about half the soup to make it think and creamy like the photo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Lovely, easy recipe. So delicious and it is perfection with a sandwich. I made this for St Patty's day with Reuben sandwiches and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Yum! I made this for a soup supper at church and the double batch I made went quickly! Great on a cool spring night or a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is an excellent soup! My husband loved it so much he ate it cold for breakfast the next day and then reheated for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Excellent base recipe, delicious! I used extra leeks like other reviews suggested, 1 bay leaf as suggested, fresh garlic instead of powder, cream cheese instead of cheddar, coconut oil instead of butter, whole cream instead of half and half and lastly, just me, but I left the skins on the potatos. I added the cream cheese after using an emerssion blender and just hand whipped it together over low heat. I make soups all the time and husband said this is one of my best! Fresh cracked pepper was a great garnish, I could see some fresh leek or scallion being great too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supertruckingirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Really good. I did not have cheddar , I used grated cheese. I also did not have onions but it turned out fine. Very filling. I added some bacon and used a blender at the end. I prefer the blended texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made this for 30 people for our setback league and they raved about it. I thought it was delicious. I used the cheddar cheese in it. wow yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Potato lover in the house loved this. Simple and easy to prepare. Forgot to add cheese and didn't really miss it. Will remember next time to add it. Did use cream instead of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I avoid dairy so instead of the half and half i puréed a cup of Cannelli beans with a little water. Worked great, was very creamy. Also the beans added fiber and protein, rounding out the nutrition profile well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Fabulous soup. Added my own twist: instead of butter I added olive oil, that I have bottled with spices. Also added grated garlic and feta cheese with fresh parsley to serve. A definite hit in my house. My husband just had it again for lunch. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States