Winter Green Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Oh, YUM! What a deliciously wonderful salad! The dressing is just perfect! The only change I made was to omit the collard leaves. Otherwise this recipe is plain perfect! I want to arrange a dinner party just to present this salad! Thank you very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I made this salad two nights in a row and each time I was assembling the ingredients I was thinking, "really??" But it works! And it's amazing! There are a lot of ingredients but it comes together very quickly and is beautiful to boot! That said, I had to make some changes... no collard greens or romaine at the store, so I used boxed spring mix and more kale; no orange pepper; toasted almond slivers instead of walnuts; half a small red cabbage; cut the oregano to 1/2 tsp (I don't like oregano). Leftovers are okay because the dressing doesn't soak everything. Just incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I just made the vinaigrette from this recipe and added it to my salad along with avocado. It is delicious! I'm never buying store bought dressing again. Fresh is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I LOVE this. I hadn't ever used collard greens in a salad before, but I am so glad we tried it... the kids couldn't get enough. The crunch and the depth of flavor from all the greens is amazing. I would recommend NOT replacing with spinach ('tho I love a good spinach salad!) because it's just such a wonderful, unique change of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This review is for the dressing only. I was looking for a MyPlate homemade salad dressing and came across this one. The ingredient list looks very strange to me. I'm not sure I would have ever made it had all the reviewers before me not given this salad a glowing report. I'm so glad I did though. The dressing is delicious, and just a little gives great flavor to the salad. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Delicious!! I used spinach instead of collard greens, but otherwise I followed the recipe. The dressing was really good as well. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Best salad I have ever had! Used kale and regular mixed salad and toasted almonds instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I made this incredibly delicious salad as a main dish. There were no collard greens available so I used a little more kale. The salad is full of texture and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a great salad. Tons of flavor in the dressing. I substituted spinach for the collards. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was a big hit. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States