Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This salad is outstanding!! I chose to omit the cashews and replaced them with slivered almonds instead. If I make this for lunch I include the swiss cheese but if I'm making it to serve to company with a meal I omit the cheese. This recipe is a keeper and people I've made it for absolutely went wild over it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
This is our favorite salad recipe now--I take it to all potlucks and serve it to guests at home. It is unique with the cheese, nuts and fruits. The dressing makes enough for 2 large salads. I always cut back on the amount of oil in the dressing to about 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Made it for my office holiday party. It was a hit! Got lots of raves and a few people asked for the recipe. My modifications: (a) I doubled the recipe but instead of using 2 heads of romaine lettuce I used one head of romaine and 1 bag of spinach. (b)Omitted the Swiss cheese. (c) Instead of cashews I added toasted pecans (toasted myself). Nuts such as pecans and walnuts seem to match the fruit and season better. (d) I added some dried cherries along with the dried cranberries. (d)Despite having doubled the salad I only needed half as much dressing because the dressing was on the side. Having the dressing on the side worked great. I used less, the salad didn't get soggy and the leftovers kept better. The leftovers were actually minimal. I made a huge bowl. Since the original recipes makes 12 - 1 cup servings, I made roughly 24 cups. At the end of the evening the rest fit tightly in a 3-cup Ziplock plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
My family loved this last Thanksgiving & reequested it for Thanksgiving 2000! Scrappin'RhodaJane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This salad was surprisingly good, and everyone liked it (even the skeptical guests). The dressing is especially tasty, and the flavors mix very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Everyone loved this recipe, don't wait for Thanksgiving to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This salad is excellent ! The dressing is what makes it so good.......but you do not need to use all of the dressing. It's a bit too much. This recipe is also quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Excellent! I used Havarti because I don't like Swiss, but I think any mild hard cheese would work in this recipe. The Lemon Poppyseed dressing is now a favourite, and I often make it for regular salads as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States