Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this at the last moment with ingredients I had on hand, but it was awesome! The lemon dressing I had made the night before was awful and I had company coming so I had to improvise. I found this recipe and made a few changes. I didn't have an onion but the dressing needed something so I substitued minced ginger-wow! This was amazing! I also kept my greens, crunchies, fruit and dressing separate so my guests could add what they wanted. Six people finished the whole salad. I used 1/3 cup walnuts, 1/3 cup almonds and 2 T flax seed-toasted-for my crunchies. The fruit I had on hand was 2 clementines, 2 granny smiths and 1/4 cup dried cranberries. My salad greens included 5 oz. of baby lettuces and half a package of spinach. Can't wait to make this again-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This salad is fantastic as written. It is a wonderful way to lighten up a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent! Served on Christmas Eve. I used mozz instead of swiss since I had it on hand. Too much dressing for us...I had about 1/3 of the recipe left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I served this at Christmas and my guests all said it was their favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have been making this salad for several years, and each time have to go back to find the specifics for the dressing. Although this is not where I found the original recipe, it is the same. I read reviews of people changing things- please don't! Keep the swiss! Keep the cashews!! Keep the dressing- don't buy it!! Don't double the fruit!! If you don't like swiss, or cashews, poppy seed or craisens- make something else! Just sayin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The dressing is very easy to make and has a great taste! I used Honey Dijon-mustard because that was all I had on hand and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've been making this recipe for about 4 or 5 years now for Thanksgiving & Christmas. It is always a hit. I cut up the apples & pears & put it right in the dressing. This keeps the fruit from turning. I just toss it up before serving. It is the perfect winter/holiday salad. I always say I'm going to try it with walnuts or almonds, but always stick the cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was awesome. I made the dressing 4 days ahead of time and it was great. I accidentally left off the apple and pear and it was great without it. Next time will not use them so I don't have to worry about brown spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is my favorite salad, and most definitely a frequently requested crowd-pleaser at pot luck meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was such a great salad! I loved the combination of fruits. I did make one change. I used walnuts instead of the cashews. I just like walnuts better. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States