Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I don't give out 5 star ratings as often as I used to but we really enjoyed this salad and it is a definite keeper. I made a few small changes: chopped green leaf lettuce instead of romaine, roasted pecans instead of cashews, at least twice as much apple and pear and about 2 TBS less sugar. I wanted to have everything ready about an hour before it was time to toss everything together so I tossed the sliced apples and pears with some of the dressing. Besides staying nice and white they absorbed some of the wonderful dressing flavor. We enjoyed the Swiss cheese, but I want to try this with blue cheese next time. I think the sweetness of the dressing and the saltiness of the blue cheese would be perfect. 12/2004 Update 9/2007: I finally made this using blue cheese and I love it! My husband and I both liked it much better than the swiss cheese and this is the only way I will make it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was very popular at our family dinner. The combination was different and tasty, but next time I will cut down on the sugar for the dressing. It was a little too sweet. *UPDATE* I have tried this recipe with swiss, cheddar, and parmesan...and I think it is best without any cheese at all. To save time, I will often use bottled lemon poppyseed dressing and prewashed organic greens. I also use what ever nuts I have on hand but I like slivered (not sliced) almonds the best. This salad is ALWAYS eaten all up at church potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe is very yummy! I gave this a three star rating because I changed it a bit as follows: 1/4 cup sugar 1 tablespoon dijon 1/3 cup veg. oil Everything else I kept the same. I felt that there was way to much sugar, and oil. With fiddling with the amounts I found it can increase the actual taste over sweetness. Increasing the Dijon mustard, and decreasing the sugar brings out the lemon, and Dijon tangy-ness that creates a more subtle taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I made this recipe last year for Thanksgiving. It was my husband's and my first Thanksgiving after our wedding, and his parents, as well as my whole family were coming over to our new home. This salad impressed their socks off!! I made a great impression. Since then, I have been asked to make it for every family occasion, including Christmas, four birthdays, Easter, Memorial day, 4th of July and Labor day. It is a wonderfully easy, yet elegant salad. (Especially to impress your in-laws!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is one of the best salads I have ever made! I used about 2 cups of monteray jack cheese, 2 apples and probably another 1/2 cup of cashews. It was perfect and the dressing is to die for! It actually makes quite a bit of dressing, so you could easily add more lettuce and still have plenty of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I served this 2x in the same week! LOVED it! I made my dressing the day before so all the flavors would blend. Great! I used feta cheese (no swiss)and used Red Onion. I also cut up the fruit a few hours before and drizzled on some of the dresing, NO brown spots at all because of the lemon juice. I used a fresh lemons...the Best! Yeah it makes too much dressing for this serving...but it keeps well to throw on more salads, or it would make a great chicken marinade ... don't ya think?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I made this salad for a party and 9 people requested the recipe! That let me know it's a winner. It is now a favorite of my husband and me. If I use a standard bag of pre cut/washed romaine lettuce then I halve the dressing recipe. I often use 2 pears instead of the 1 apple, 1 pear. Also, often add a few more cranberries since they are so pretty. Even my kids love this salad. An inspired combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Wow - what a fabulous, yet elegant salad to serve at a holiday get togther or anytime for that matter! It's got a wonderful combination of flavors, colors and textures. The dressing is absolutely delicious and the proportions are spot-on, if I had to change anything I would use just a little less sugar. But other than that is was perfect. I just threw everything into a mini-food processor and gave it a whirl then poured it into a container and added the poppy seeds last and just shook it up. I used butter lettuce vs. romaine and toasted walnuts vs. cashews. I soaked my apples and pears in lemon water so they wouldn't brown. The Swiss cheese was very good and next time I might try a blue cheese or even a feta. Great recipe that's very easy and something you'll want to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I would actually give it 3 1/2 if I could. It was good, but seemed like it was missing something. I used Havarti instead of Swiss. Still, if you are looking for a fruity salad, this doesn't even come close to the Spring Strawberry Spinach Salad found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
This was absolutely delicious! I had to substitute a shredded cheddar/Montery Jack cheese combination for the Swiss but everything else was the same. I LOVED the salad dressing though I only used 3/4 of it even with extra lettuce. That just left me with more for another time! I put all the ingredients together (except the poppy seeds) in a large bowl and blended them with a hand bleder, then added the seeds and blended a little more. The dressing was so well mixed and didn't separate, much as I suspect would happen with a table-mounted blender- just less mess and steps! Thank you Nora for a recipe I could eat all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States