Winter Fruit Compote Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great dessert recipe for the winter. I made it for a dinner party (without the sugar), served it over french vanilla ice cream with a biscotti and garnished with sprig of mint. Everyone loved it. Thanks comments about the added sugar. I made the recipe without any added sugar at all and it was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKF60

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I cut back a bit on the sugar added, as most dried fruits have extra sugar in them to start with. Making this compote made the whole house smell wonderful. I served it with a fresh pound cake, and dollop of whipped cream...rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used this as a template for apple compote. Basically for however much of the other fruit it called for, I just used apples. I also used water instead of the apple juice as recommended by another person, and I always add more cinnamon than it calls for. I did find that it was taking a long while to thicken so I added a bit of cornstarch to help it along. It may have been cause I used fresh apples instead of dried. I thought the end result tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I had to modify this recipe to the ingredients I had on hand, but we loved it. I used 1 cup fresh figs in place of the dried figs, pear nectar in place of the apple juice, and dried mango in place of the apricots. I added lemon zest and served the compote over chicken cutlets. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OBERPRILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Served warm with ice cream. Boyfriend raved about it, although we agreed less sugar would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I served this warm over mini custard filled pound cakes and french vanilla ice cream. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bravo Alpha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I found this recipe to be very good and easy to make, especially as it does not call for cornstarch to thicken it, which I never have. However, it is very, very sweet. My brother, who is a much better cook than I am, suggests only using 1-2 tablespoons of brown sugar to cut the bitterness, and substituting water for the apple juice. I'll try this next time. Also, chopping the figs will make it easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Serve warm over ice cream. The fruit flavors complement each other perfectly and I can't imagine a better Winter blend of fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
mmmm. This recipe was delicious. besides serving this compote with pork and turkey. I had it as a side dish with my morning toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States