Winter Energy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
these were so hearty and good. I cut the recipe in half and made smaller cookies i got about 28 and cooked them for 15 minutes. These are perfect for hiking or just snacking. The second time i made them i also did half applesauce and half butter and used all whole wheat flour. They still came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
OH...YUM!!! These are BY FAR the best "health" / "trail mix" cookie I have tasted. I have been searching a long time for a recipe that will make me never want to buy bars again, and this one has blown me away. I couldn't stop eating the dough, haha! I used all spelt flour (LOVE the taste of it and it's so healthy!) and only half the amount of molasses because I ran out. The flavors are so complimentary to eachother. I tried lots of add-ins like chocolate chips, craisins, walnuts, pecans, golden raisins... YUM! Also, to 1/4 of the batch I added 1 small banana with walnuts. MMMM it tastes like REALLY GOOD flavorful banana bread!!! Thanks so much for a recipe that will be a forever favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I cut the sugar to 1 cup, used crunchy PB, 1/2 cup pure mini chocolate chips, 1/2 cup walnut, 1/4 cup sunflower, 1/4 cup sesame seeds & 1/4 cup coconut. Next time I would like to try 1/2 butter 1/2 apple sauce ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
These are very dense - but delicious - cookies. I've made them several times and recently used mini-kisses instead of chocolate chips for a more intense chocolate flavor. I've also used crunchy peanut butter rather than smooth, both milk and semi-sweet chocolate. They're very easy to modify and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
I omitted the raisins, chocolate chips, and nuts for a lower-calorie result, and they were wonderful!!! Very filling, soft, and wholesome. I will make this again and never buy granola bars from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I used all whole wheat flour, cut the chocolate chips down to 1/4 cup (to save calories), and used 1/2 banana instead of applesauce (since I didn't have applesauce). YUM! Tasted like a little banana bread cookie. Be sure to flatten them--otherwise, they stay little balls when they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
These are great! You can change them to your liking, and they still turn out fine. I always do something different, usually using organic crunchy pb, unsweetened carob chips, mix in some ground flax, only 3/4 cup sugar, and 1/2 cup butter 1/2 cup applesauce. These are excellent for breakfast or on a hike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These are fantastic cookies! We've actually dubbed them "muffies" here at home, because they are somewhere between a muffin and a cookie, as far as heartiness goes. With a banana and a glass of O.J. they make a great quick breakfast. I cut the butter down to 2/3 cup and added some cocoa to the batter, but otherwise baked them as written. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I also substituted 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter and used crunchy pb. I used 1/8 cup to drop the cookies instead of 1/4 cup. I might try half the sugar or maybe 3/4 the amount. The cookies are NOT too sweet, I would just be interested to see what I could get away with to cut back the sugar. These cookie are my new FAVORITE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These were good, especially for being a healthy cookie :) I didn't have raisins or walnuts so I left them out. Like a lot of others, I reduced the sugar and replaced 1/2 of the butter with unsweetened applesauce. I made the cookies smaller than called for (that way I can eat more of them!). Also, just as a note, I only had blackstrap molasses - the flavor was very strong in these. If I use the blackstrap again I would probably reduce it to 1/2. I would imagine that other types of molasses would work better for this recipe as it covered up the other flavors, and what's the good of adding all those yummy ingredients if you can't taste them?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States