Winter Energy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Oh man... these are fantastic! I'll keep making them just because they're delicious, never mind healthy :) I subbed applesauce for half the butter like folks said, and the PB as well (I don't like it). Two other changes - I used equal parts 7 grain mix, wheat bran, and white flour - just because it was all I had, but yum! Also added cranberries and almonds, and I think that really worked... Oh, these are so good! I'm going to try making these again with different kinds of grain - maybe buckwheat? Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
awesome! i discovered these after my husband asked if i could make "healthy cookies". you can't get much closer than this and still have a great cookie. i made these throughout my pregnancy and they made perfect snacks. i left out the raisins and added more nuts and high quality chocolate chips. i'll be making these forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Packed with good things. They tasted good but you can only eat 1 since they are so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
These were so good. I made them exactly according to the recipe, with organic walnuts chopped extra fine in a chopper, big delicious raisins, and grain-sweetened chocolate chips. Oh, I think I put a bit less than a cup of brown sugar, but nonetheless they were excellent cookies. I took them to my mom's, and they were gone within the day. My sisters couldn't stop eating them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I like how thick these are. They are a little dry, though. Are good with milk or coffee. Mine only took about 11-12 minutes to cook, because my oven always cooks quicker than recipes state anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I'm pregnant and have been looking for a "good" snack I won't feel guilty about. These were perfect! I used half butter and half applesauce, craisins, pecans and eliminated the chocolate. My 3 yr old son loves them too! I love how only one cookie will satisfy you unlike most other cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Wow! These are delicious! The batch I made turned out a whopping 35 (medium sized) cookies and between all of them I used only 1 C. of brown sugar (and one packet of stevia). I used 1 C. of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of millet (ground in coffee grinder). I used sunflower seed butter instead of peanut butter. I also ground up half of the oatmeal (my 2 and 3 year old like them less lumpy) and used a cup of dark chocolate chips. I also left out the raisens and used a cup and a half of finely chopped walnuts. Substitute half of the butter with applesauce. These are the only "healthy" cookie recipe my kids will eat. LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very good with the modifications suggested (replace half the butter with applesauce). I didn't have walnuts so I used pecans. I also threw in some flax seeds. They have a very strong molasses flavor, even without using blackstrap. Also - make sure that you make them large enough. I made smaller ones and they were very dry and not so good. The larger ones retain their moisture much better. I used a good 1/4 cup measure. I will make these again and experiment with all applesauce and honey instead of molasses. They are healthy for you with modifications, but with chocolate chips they are also a treat! I'm making them again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Although these are a very dense cookie, they are very good. I cut back on the nuts a bit to my taste, but followed the rest of the recipe as is. They are a very filling cookie & have just the perfect amount of sweetness with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I think these might possibly be the best cookies I have ever made! I cut half the butter with applesauce and nixed the walnuts to lower the calorie content. However, to half the batch I added dried cranberries and slivered almonds. Fantastic and especially good as a breakfast cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyheather06

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States