Winter Energy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
YUM! great recipe! myself and my daughters second grade class voted this the best cookie ever... I added ginger, and also, I didn't have wheat germ, but I added about a 1/2 cup of ground flax seed. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
We loved this, including the kids(age 3 & 6). I did have to make some substitutions & it is well suited for some lightening up using some light margaring/apple sauce & egg beaters - the peanut butter ensures it doesn't get get a styrofoam texture using too many light ingredented. Subbed honey for molasses & fiber 1 cereal for wheat germ based on what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My husband absolutely loved these. He begs me to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
My family LOVES these! I replace each egg with 1 TBS milled flax seed and 3 TBS water. can't taste any difference. ALso vary raisins with dried cherry or cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These are fabulous cookies full of good things. I make smaller cookies than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosemarie
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Loved them! It was fun deciding what to put in the dough--I used dates and less chocolate chips, and used blackstrap molasses. The molasses was a little rich for me, might cut back on that for next time. They are so dense and hearty, excellent for this time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Of course I had to mess with the recipe a little bit - I used half butter/half applesauce, dates instead of raisins, 2T soy flour with the AP flour, a little coconut, not as much chips and walnuts as called for, and processed the oats a bit first. My pickiest 3 year-old actually ate 3 of these and he eats nothing that looks out of the ordinary. I took these to a meeting and everyone loved them. I will definitely keep this recipe. I'm always trying to add a little of the healthy stuff in cookie recipes and this combination works very well! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
OH...YUM!!! These are BY FAR the best "health" / "trail mix" cookie I have tasted. I have been searching a long time for a recipe that will make me never want to buy bars again, and this one has blown me away. I couldn't stop eating the dough, haha! I used all spelt flour (LOVE the taste of it and it's so healthy!) and only half the amount of molasses because I ran out. The flavors are so complimentary to eachother. I tried lots of add-ins like chocolate chips, craisins, walnuts, pecans, golden raisins... YUM! Also, to 1/4 of the batch I added 1 small banana with walnuts. MMMM it tastes like REALLY GOOD flavorful banana bread!!! Thanks so much for a recipe that will be a forever favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Divine!! Very filling and hearty. I didn't have wheat germ on hand, so I substituted with flax seeds. No problems at all. Perfectly moist. Love these!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States