Winter Energy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I only give 5 stars to foods that taste heavenly, but these were really good, especially for being good for you. Keep a close eye on them because they burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
These cookies did give a lot of energy :) It was my first time making a healthier cookie with whole wheat flour and wheat germ, and I was impressed. I will surely make these again sometime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I used all whole wheat flour, cut the chocolate chips down to 1/4 cup (to save calories), and used 1/2 banana instead of applesauce (since I didn't have applesauce). YUM! Tasted like a little banana bread cookie. Be sure to flatten them--otherwise, they stay little balls when they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These were good, especially for being a healthy cookie :) I didn't have raisins or walnuts so I left them out. Like a lot of others, I reduced the sugar and replaced 1/2 of the butter with unsweetened applesauce. I made the cookies smaller than called for (that way I can eat more of them!). Also, just as a note, I only had blackstrap molasses - the flavor was very strong in these. If I use the blackstrap again I would probably reduce it to 1/2. I would imagine that other types of molasses would work better for this recipe as it covered up the other flavors, and what's the good of adding all those yummy ingredients if you can't taste them?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These are fantastic cookies! We've actually dubbed them "muffies" here at home, because they are somewhere between a muffin and a cookie, as far as heartiness goes. With a banana and a glass of O.J. they make a great quick breakfast. I cut the butter down to 2/3 cup and added some cocoa to the batter, but otherwise baked them as written. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I tried to make them into bars but they came out kind of dry. I think that I’ll used applesauce and 1 cup of rolled oats to help keep them moist. Still very good flavor and texture, reminds me of my nana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Wonderful cookie. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Pecans instead of walnuts. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I cut the sugar to 1 cup, used crunchy PB, 1/2 cup pure mini chocolate chips, 1/2 cup walnut, 1/4 cup sunflower, 1/4 cup sesame seeds & 1/4 cup coconut. Next time I would like to try 1/2 butter 1/2 apple sauce ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Great cookies. I followed the recipe exactly. In my oven, 325 degrees for 15 minutes is perfect. Thanks Thea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I also substituted 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter and used crunchy pb. I used 1/8 cup to drop the cookies instead of 1/4 cup. I might try half the sugar or maybe 3/4 the amount. The cookies are NOT too sweet, I would just be interested to see what I could get away with to cut back the sugar. These cookie are my new FAVORITE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States