Winter Blossom's Often Requested Ham Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This ham salad recipe is outstanding. Everyone who tries it says it's the best ham salad they have ever had! I make it exactly as directed. Once in a while I add a 1/4 c hot cherry peppers chopped up for the men in my family who like it spicy. Letting it sit in fridge for a few hours is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Needed more "oomph". As is, the recipe was good but not great. I ended up adding sweet relish (in addition to the dill pickle relish), ground black pepper, onion powder (in addition to the dried minced onion) and increasing the brown mustard to get to the point of tastiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Love this recipe! Just wanted to make a note that if you don't have a kitchen scale...I used 4 1/2 cups of lightly packed chopped ham and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I too had to make substitutions with fresh onion and dijon. Ratios were perfect so thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evan Dobkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Pretty good. I had to deviate from the recipe a little since I didn't have some of the items on hand. I used Dijon mustard instead of brown, and sweet pickle relish instead of dill. Also, I didn't have any minced onion, so I crushed up some French fried onions leftover from Thanksgiving's green bean casserole! That's a trick I'm going to remember for future recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Sedlak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Growing up, ham salad always was made from the Holiday ham leftovers. I processed the ham in the food processor, and sub'd sweet pickle relish and freshly-chopped onions. This recipe is very similar to the way my Dad made his, and we enjoyed some yummy sandwiches today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is pretty good. I used leftover "honeybaked"-style ham and some of the sweetness of that is taking over the relish, onion, and mustard flavoring. I will probably try to make this another time using smoked or boiled ham. REVISION: I increased this from 4 to 5 stars because after a couple of days in the frig, this tasted fantastic (even using the honey-baked)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I love ham salad and used this recipe as a base - it is so tasty! I sub light mayo and use sweet relish instead of dill. I also add a dash of celery salt and sometimes a tiny dash of garlic powder. LOVE it with mixed greens on toasted rye bread. Thanks Winter- you have a winner here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made it exactly as instructed except I didn't have enough ham, so I added corned beef since I had a corner of one left. Really, really good! I'm certain this recipe would be just as yummy with chicken or tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I subbed sweet relish because that's what I had on hand. I thought it was pretty plain as written, so I added 1 tsp dill, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp sriracha. I didn't like it plain, it was ok on a sandwich, but wow...swerved on celery sticks it was absolutely amazing!! Next time I will definitely use fresh minced onion. UPDATE: This is now my go-to recipe, and it's perfect with the changes that I make. My husband begs me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States