Winter Blossom's Often Requested Ham Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Love this recipe! Just wanted to make a note that if you don't have a kitchen scale...I used 4 1/2 cups of lightly packed chopped ham and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I too had to make substitutions with fresh onion and dijon. Ratios were perfect so thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evan Dobkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Pretty good. I had to deviate from the recipe a little since I didn't have some of the items on hand. I used Dijon mustard instead of brown, and sweet pickle relish instead of dill. Also, I didn't have any minced onion, so I crushed up some French fried onions leftover from Thanksgiving's green bean casserole! That's a trick I'm going to remember for future recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Sedlak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Growing up, ham salad always was made from the Holiday ham leftovers. I processed the ham in the food processor, and sub'd sweet pickle relish and freshly-chopped onions. This recipe is very similar to the way my Dad made his, and we enjoyed some yummy sandwiches today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is pretty good. I used leftover "honeybaked"-style ham and some of the sweetness of that is taking over the relish, onion, and mustard flavoring. I will probably try to make this another time using smoked or boiled ham. REVISION: I increased this from 4 to 5 stars because after a couple of days in the frig, this tasted fantastic (even using the honey-baked)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I love ham salad and used this recipe as a base - it is so tasty! I sub light mayo and use sweet relish instead of dill. I also add a dash of celery salt and sometimes a tiny dash of garlic powder. LOVE it with mixed greens on toasted rye bread. Thanks Winter- you have a winner here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made it exactly as instructed except I didn't have enough ham, so I added corned beef since I had a corner of one left. Really, really good! I'm certain this recipe would be just as yummy with chicken or tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I subbed sweet relish because that's what I had on hand. I thought it was pretty plain as written, so I added 1 tsp dill, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1/4 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp sriracha. I didn't like it plain, it was ok on a sandwich, but wow...swerved on celery sticks it was absolutely amazing!! Next time I will definitely use fresh minced onion. UPDATE: This is now my go-to recipe, and it's perfect with the changes that I make. My husband begs me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I liked it, my fiancé wasn't a fan. Kind of sweet but it was a good recipe, worth a try if you're considering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this last night with MY leftover $8 huge ham. I used regular yellow mustard as I did not realize brown mustard was called for. I really liked it, but will be try this with the brown mustard next time. My husband and small son loved it on crackers, as did I, but I really liked it as a sandwich for my lunch today. The flavors were much stronger the next day, I may ease back on the onion & relish just a tad unless I am making to use that day or night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States