Wine Soaked Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I'm with "silence" here as I was not about to lose a whole bottle of my precious red wine on mushrooms. I too used a cup of the wine and a cup of the broth. Perfection to say the least! Made this to go with london broil tonight. Thanks a bunch Harry for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
The best mushrooms I have ever eaten. Made blue cheese crusted filet mignon and needed 1/2 cup port red, used the rest on these. Turned out wonderful. Easier than I thought. Would suggest doubling the mushroom amount. There are not any left now :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKDKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made these tonight, but only cooked them for 30 minutes with about 1/4 cup of wine and 1/4 cup of broth. They were still awesome, but I don't really see the need for 2 hours and as much ingredient called for for a side dish. Loved the flavors though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
i used button mushrooms that were halved so that it would resemble the burgundy mushrooms my hubby and i are so fond of. It was excellent! thought it would be too strong for the kids, but my 9yr old went back for seconds. thumbs up from everyone- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I used this as the side/sauce for beef wrapped in puff pastry - and it truly was delish. I did not use button mushrooms, but instead used Crimini. The only things keeping it from a five-star review: Very similar results can be had with far less wine and time. It's a rare day that I am willing to drop an entire bottle of a decent red into a side/sauce to serve four. That said - the flavor and texture are spectacular. So, for special events - when you have a lot of time, don't mind the expense and want to truly impress - it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I decreased the servings and cut back on the wine and broth. To me it tasted like soggy mushrooms that had the color of beets. We could taste the wine but that was about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought these were just okay...I made as directed- although I cooked just under the full two hours, and with a bit less wine. I don't like when other reviewers change a recipe and then negatively comment on its outcome, so I must say that the 3-star rating is not based on the amount of wine or the cooking time. It has to do with the onions- maybe I'm just a "mushroom purist," but I didn't care for the addition. I would make these again, but without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
a great standby. SO easy and SO delicious. A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent. I doubled the recipe for 8 people and used 2 cups of wine and 2 cups of beef broth. Served as a side with prime rib. These were delicious the following day as a toppeing for leftover prime ribe sandwiches. Well worth the time & wine involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Excellent with steak. I increased the serving amount but still reduced the amount of wine and beef broth and they came out awesome. Definitely will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States