Wine Soaked Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
The best mushrooms I have ever eaten. Made blue cheese crusted filet mignon and needed 1/2 cup port red, used the rest on these. Turned out wonderful. Easier than I thought. Would suggest doubling the mushroom amount. There are not any left now :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKDKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This was delicious! I make a similar dish increasing the amount of mushrooms to two pounds and using vermouth and beef boullion in place of the red wine and broth. I usually only use one or two cups of wine and add a little more butter too. It's a very flexible recipe and is wonderfully delicious no matter how much it's adjusted. (I am a mushroom freak--can you tell? Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I used this as the side/sauce for beef wrapped in puff pastry - and it truly was delish. I did not use button mushrooms, but instead used Crimini. The only things keeping it from a five-star review: Very similar results can be had with far less wine and time. It's a rare day that I am willing to drop an entire bottle of a decent red into a side/sauce to serve four. That said - the flavor and texture are spectacular. So, for special events - when you have a lot of time, don't mind the expense and want to truly impress - it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
really really good! only used 1c. wine and 1c. beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I'm with "silence" here as I was not about to lose a whole bottle of my precious red wine on mushrooms. I too used a cup of the wine and a cup of the broth. Perfection to say the least! Made this to go with london broil tonight. Thanks a bunch Harry for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
YUM!!! I didn't have a ton of time so I took other reviewers advice and used only 1c wine/ 1c broth. It only took a little longer than the steaks on the grill. Can't wait to make this one for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good! There are just two of us so I made 1/2 lb. mushrooms. I followed others' advice and used 1 cup wine and 1 cup broth. The rest I followed as written. I did add a blop of butter to the finished product. My preference. Thank you, Harry! One of the best recipes I have tried on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I love mushrooms and was extremely disappointed in this recipe. I followed others suggestion and used 1 cup wine/1 cup broth. The aroma was amazing, the taste was less than spectacular. I've made much better from other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These are delicious with steak. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a lot less wine and they still turned out wonderfully. These will be a staple with our steak dinners from now on. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becka2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I halved this recipe for two with 8oz mushrooms, but 1/2 of everything else. Because the liquid was 1/2 it cooked down quickly. Very delicious with our McCormick Montreal seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States