Wine Soaked Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I really liked this recipe, although I did alter it by adding shallots, using cremini Mushrooms and reducing the amount of wine a bit. The thyme added a very nice flavor. I actually prepared this for a vegetarian meal and everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Fair recipe, just needs more flavour other than red wine, thinking Marsala wine or other sweet cooking wine would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was a terrific recipe as is. I added 1/2 cup heavy cream at the end and served over chicken. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Don't let the cook time scare you, I made this as a last minute thing, my husband didn't want chicken and he usually over cooks the steaks HAHA so I knew we needed a topping! Because I didn't have the time to reduce the liquid I only added 14.5 oz of my favorite Red wine- so equal parts beef broth and red wine- I brought the mixture to a rolling boil for 15 minutes and then a slow simmered for another 15 minutes. Total cook time after the liquid was added was only 30 minutes...perfection! I WILL ABSOLUTELY be making this again! Next time, when there's more time, I will do the full bottle of wine and full 1 1/2 hours cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
While reading through all of the comments, I thought it would be too strong with all that wine. I left all of the directions and ingridients the same, except, I used red cooking wine and only used 14 oz to be equal to the beef broth. I reduced it for just under an hour and it was the best topper for my steak, I even ate some for a side, the remaining juices are AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We thought that they great. Wife didn't care for the presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Substited chopped garlic from jar, dried onions, and added some tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought these were just okay...I made as directed- although I cooked just under the full two hours, and with a bit less wine. I don't like when other reviewers change a recipe and then negatively comment on its outcome, so I must say that the 3-star rating is not based on the amount of wine or the cooking time. It has to do with the onions- maybe I'm just a "mushroom purist," but I didn't care for the addition. I would make these again, but without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
i used button mushrooms that were halved so that it would resemble the burgundy mushrooms my hubby and i are so fond of. It was excellent! thought it would be too strong for the kids, but my 9yr old went back for seconds. thumbs up from everyone- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States