Wine Soaked Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
The best mushrooms I have ever eaten. Made blue cheese crusted filet mignon and needed 1/2 cup port red, used the rest on these. Turned out wonderful. Easier than I thought. Would suggest doubling the mushroom amount. There are not any left now :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TKDKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This was delicious! I make a similar dish increasing the amount of mushrooms to two pounds and using vermouth and beef boullion in place of the red wine and broth. I usually only use one or two cups of wine and add a little more butter too. It's a very flexible recipe and is wonderfully delicious no matter how much it's adjusted. (I am a mushroom freak--can you tell? Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I used this as the side/sauce for beef wrapped in puff pastry - and it truly was delish. I did not use button mushrooms, but instead used Crimini. The only things keeping it from a five-star review: Very similar results can be had with far less wine and time. It's a rare day that I am willing to drop an entire bottle of a decent red into a side/sauce to serve four. That said - the flavor and texture are spectacular. So, for special events - when you have a lot of time, don't mind the expense and want to truly impress - it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer & Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hunt Valley, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
really really good! only used 1c. wine and 1c. beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I'm with "silence" here as I was not about to lose a whole bottle of my precious red wine on mushrooms. I too used a cup of the wine and a cup of the broth. Perfection to say the least! Made this to go with london broil tonight. Thanks a bunch Harry for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
YUM!!! I didn't have a ton of time so I took other reviewers advice and used only 1c wine/ 1c broth. It only took a little longer than the steaks on the grill. Can't wait to make this one for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good! There are just two of us so I made 1/2 lb. mushrooms. I followed others' advice and used 1 cup wine and 1 cup broth. The rest I followed as written. I did add a blop of butter to the finished product. My preference. Thank you, Harry! One of the best recipes I have tried on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I love mushrooms and was extremely disappointed in this recipe. I followed others suggestion and used 1 cup wine/1 cup broth. The aroma was amazing, the taste was less than spectacular. I've made much better from other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These are delicious with steak. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a lot less wine and they still turned out wonderfully. These will be a staple with our steak dinners from now on. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becka2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I halved this recipe for two with 8oz mushrooms, but 1/2 of everything else. Because the liquid was 1/2 it cooked down quickly. Very delicious with our McCormick Montreal seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States