Wine Soaked Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
We just did not enjoy this dish. There seemed to be a LOT of onion. I used 2 onions about the size of med-sm apples and removed a about half of them after the saute as there were so many. The remaining onions I cut into smaller pieces than whole slices' to make it easier to blend in with the mushrooms. By the time the dish was cooked, the mixture looked a very unappetizing deep red color and tasted quite strong although I used a nice red wine. Everyone ate some but no one took seconds and no one raved about it either - least of all me. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I also used half the wine and broth, doubled the garlic and did the full 90 minutes plus a bit more as guests were late. We had realy good steaks, and the mushrooms were more popular! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mans wife
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is an awsome recipe. I didn't have any thyme so I used rosemary. I also used 1 cup of wine and 1 cup of broth and it came out restaurant worthy. The flavor is outstanding. This was totally worth the time it took to make it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Excellent with steak. I increased the serving amount but still reduced the amount of wine and beef broth and they came out awesome. Definitely will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I halved this recipe for two with 8oz mushrooms, but 1/2 of everything else. Because the liquid was 1/2 it cooked down quickly. Very delicious with our McCormick Montreal seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
These are delicious with steak. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a lot less wine and they still turned out wonderfully. These will be a staple with our steak dinners from now on. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becka2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I love mushrooms and was extremely disappointed in this recipe. I followed others suggestion and used 1 cup wine/1 cup broth. The aroma was amazing, the taste was less than spectacular. I've made much better from other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good! There are just two of us so I made 1/2 lb. mushrooms. I followed others' advice and used 1 cup wine and 1 cup broth. The rest I followed as written. I did add a blop of butter to the finished product. My preference. Thank you, Harry! One of the best recipes I have tried on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
YUM!!! I didn't have a ton of time so I took other reviewers advice and used only 1c wine/ 1c broth. It only took a little longer than the steaks on the grill. Can't wait to make this one for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I'm with "silence" here as I was not about to lose a whole bottle of my precious red wine on mushrooms. I too used a cup of the wine and a cup of the broth. Perfection to say the least! Made this to go with london broil tonight. Thanks a bunch Harry for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States