Wine Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made this for my Valentine's day dinner and it went over really well! My boyfriend loved it and so did I. I mixed it with egg noodles for some more texture and it went really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elberethvarda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This recipe was so simple and incredibly good! I followed it exactly (except for the almonds which I didn't have on hand) and wouldn't change a thing. My husband told me at least 10 times during dinner it's a new favorite of his. We can't wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a great recipe and will definitely make it again! Instead of the evaporated milk, I used 1% milk. I also sauteed the mushrooms with an onion, and replaced the mayo with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Easy to make! Also my picky child ate just the chicken with a little of the sauce. Instead of cut-up cooked chicken I browned chiken breasts (2 lbs) a few minutes on each side in the same pan I sauted the mushrooms in (after removing the mushrooms). I also used 2% milk since I didn't have any evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: I love this recipe, & found it a lot tastier than a similar dish "Jerusalem Chicken" on here. Found no need for adding butter before the chicken & obviously from my pic, we don't always use mushrooms. It's just a matter of being in the mood to add them or what we have in the pantry. I'm also not sure why it says to have COOKED chicken. I never pre-cook or even cut the chicken in small pieces. I did use use a little PAM on my glass dish. While using an expensive wine can enhance any dish, I've had great results using the cheapest wine at the store. I use fat free evaporated milk, any cream of chicken or mushroom, and don't be scared off by the mayo b/c you won't be able to taste it. I also use (any flavor) Almond Accents to go on top (found next to the fresh salads), and can't imagine NOT adding them to the dish. It's that good!! This goes great with potatoes on the side, and I use the honey potato recipe (1 lb red potatoes quartered, 1T butter, 3T honey, and 1t dry mustard - bake 40 min). The salad in my pic is just romaine with sliced strawberries and of course more almond accents and we sometimes sprinkle dried blueberries and cranberries on top. Every toddler that comes over loves this fruit salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This turned out amazing!! Although I did make a few changes. I left the chicken breasts whole and lightly browned them first. Changed the cream of mushroom soup to cream of broccoli. Substituted sour cream for the condensed milk , added fresh garlic and also 1/2 cup of cream cheese. I cooked as directed, removed the chicken after cooking, poured the sauce over pasta, and then placed the whole chicken breast back on each plate that was served. The chicken was so tender and juicy!!! The second time we made this was with canned mushrooms and what a big mistake, sautee fresh mushrooms in butter and this will turn out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
We did not like this one bit.I am not sure if it was the recipe or my taste buds. It was very heavy and seemed to overwhelm the chicken itself. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
WOW!! This is really DELICIOUS and most of my family of 10 agreed! The only change I made was to saute 1-2 cloves of FRESH MINCED garlic in the 2 TBS butter, THEN put it in the 9x13 pan. If you do this, skip the garlic powder in the sauce. After baking, it was necessary to whisk the sauce a bit to smooth it out, but we served it over noodles and there was plenty of the cheesey, wine-y, garlicky mix to suite everyone's preferences. Thanks Kay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and the chicken turned out dry. I think the 1 hour cooking time is too long. The chicken is already cooked anyway. The sauce had seperated and was horribly greasy but a good stir was all it needed. I actually loved the sauce. I will use this sauce again some another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisol, SD
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
It was delicious! I cooked this on Valentine's Day for my boyfriend and family. They loved it! I listened to the other reviews and presented this on a bed of linguine. I used fresh mushroom and Italian-five cheese shredded cheese! I just wish the sauce stayed creamy when I made it on the stove. But after transferring it to the pan and in the oven, the sauce separated. Still, I recommend this because it is delicious. My family still preferred to add extra cheese to top it when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisol, SD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States