Wine Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: I love this recipe, & found it a lot tastier than a similar dish "Jerusalem Chicken" on here. Found no need for adding butter before the chicken & obviously from my pic, we don't always use mushrooms. It's just a matter of being in the mood to add them or what we have in the pantry. I'm also not sure why it says to have COOKED chicken. I never pre-cook or even cut the chicken in small pieces. I did use use a little PAM on my glass dish. While using an expensive wine can enhance any dish, I've had great results using the cheapest wine at the store. I use fat free evaporated milk, any cream of chicken or mushroom, and don't be scared off by the mayo b/c you won't be able to taste it. I also use (any flavor) Almond Accents to go on top (found next to the fresh salads), and can't imagine NOT adding them to the dish. It's that good!! This goes great with potatoes on the side, and I use the honey potato recipe (1 lb red potatoes quartered, 1T butter, 3T honey, and 1t dry mustard - bake 40 min). The salad in my pic is just romaine with sliced strawberries and of course more almond accents and we sometimes sprinkle dried blueberries and cranberries on top. Every toddler that comes over loves this fruit salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Ok, so I made a bunch of changes, but this turned out great! First, I sauted some yellow onion with the butter. I didn't use the canned milk or the mayo. (I replaced the mayo with sour cream) I increased the white wine and sour cream to make up for the milk. (I didn't measure, just eye balled it) Also, I didn't use the almonds. Anyway, we loved this. I served it with Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes from this web site. Yummy! Thanx so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
A very good recipe! To make the meal lower in fat, I used low fat cream of mushroom soup, fat free evaporated milk, and very little butter to saute the mushrooms. I think next time I'll try 2% cheddar cheese. With that change, it if works, this can become a regular meal rather than just for a special occasion. I also suggest that the mayonaise be added right before the sauce is taken off the heat for better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Very good flavor. Didn't have any cream of mushroom soup so subbed cream of chicken. This reminded me of a hot chicken dip someone made a few years ago at a baby shower. It is rich and next time, I will reduce the amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This recipe is deliciously EXQUISITE! Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or as a scrumptious, sophisticated dinner for a cozy crowd! I did however change the way I cooked the recipe, though I'm sure the overall taste has remained the same. Instead of cream of mushroom soup I used cream of chicken. I used regular skim milk instead of the condensed milk. Instead of cheddar cheese, I used about shredded mozzarella and some cream cheese. (Sorry I don't measure!) And I added more wine. Then, I let it all simmer in a large skillet on low heat for half an hour instead of baking it. Served it over the rice...MMMMMM! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annareisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This was good. But I think the next time I'll sub sour cream for mayonaise. My husband didn't really care for the mayo flavor much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was a quick, easy one to make. I used low sodium soup and it didn't make a difference. My entire family loved it. I would absolutely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
WOW!! This is really DELICIOUS and most of my family of 10 agreed! The only change I made was to saute 1-2 cloves of FRESH MINCED garlic in the 2 TBS butter, THEN put it in the 9x13 pan. If you do this, skip the garlic powder in the sauce. After baking, it was necessary to whisk the sauce a bit to smooth it out, but we served it over noodles and there was plenty of the cheesey, wine-y, garlicky mix to suite everyone's preferences. Thanks Kay!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I have made this for so many people now, and everyone always asks for the recipe. I use low fat mayo, soup and evaporated milk, and you can't tell the difference. It is really easy to throw together too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
meh...I don't get the high ratings here. Followed the recipe exactly and I'm sure it came out just like it should have but it was - average. Not worth the extremely high caloric intake for something so...well, unnoteworthy. Save those extra calories for something special! We ate it, won't make it again. I think, and this is personal preference, I will NEVER like Cream of Mushroom/Chicken soup as a base so this was my own fault for trying to take the easy way out. Otherwise, easy to prepare, cooking times spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States