Wine Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
We loved this recipe! We did make a few minor changes. We added about 1 tablespoon of mustard and used frozen garlic instead of powdered. We also didn't want to wait to bake it, so we grilled the chicken, sliced it, put it on top of pasta and then topped the whole thing with the sauce! Thank you some much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good, I did browse the reviews and sauteed onions along with the mushrooms and added Herbs de Provence to the sauce. To reduce the fat content, I replaced the mayo with nonfat yogurt and used the light version of cream of mushroom soup. This is very similiar to Chicken Tetrazini, but without the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Not my (or my daughter's) thing though my husband & son liked it. Too fattening & I just don't like cream of whatever soup as the base of many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I tried this recipe hoping that it would be something exciting and different. Unfortunatelly I was disappointed. The sauce didn't have a whole lot of flavor and my family was not so happy with me for trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I love this dish! I have made it a dozen or more times and I'm just getting around to reviewing it. This recipe has been thrown into my family's regular dinner rotation, we all love it. It's great over rice, pasta, or with potatoes. Thanks for such an easy, and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gurley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
meh...I don't get the high ratings here. Followed the recipe exactly and I'm sure it came out just like it should have but it was - average. Not worth the extremely high caloric intake for something so...well, unnoteworthy. Save those extra calories for something special! We ate it, won't make it again. I think, and this is personal preference, I will NEVER like Cream of Mushroom/Chicken soup as a base so this was my own fault for trying to take the easy way out. Otherwise, easy to prepare, cooking times spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
YUMMY! I followed the recipe exactly except for the cooking method. I sauteed the mushrooms with onion until they were browned and then transfered them into a bowl. I then took 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts(2 lbs) that I had cut into 3rds or 4ths, seasoned them with pepper and herbs de provence and cooked them in the same pan. I then added the mushrooms and onions back in and added the wine-soup sauce to the pan on the stovetop. I turned the heat to low and simmered for about 30 minutes. My only complaint is that the sauce was too thick for my liking; probably because I coooked it on the stove instead of the oven. Next time I will add more evaporated milk or wine to correct this. The flavor was rich and wonderful; my 2yr old who hates chicken (but loves cheese) licked his plate clean, and my husband couldn't resist 2nds. This one goes into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great recipe, here were my changes, no wine, used chicken broth, sauteed 4 cloves fresh minced garlic with fresh crimini mushrooms in 2 tbsp butter, seared chicken breasts, cut into big slices, layered into baking dish- chicken, mushrooms, sauce, baked for 35 minutes at 350, added parm and sliced almonds, 10 more minutes, perfectly cooked! Sauce does get a little chunky, just whisk sauce with couple tbsp chicken broth and it's good to go! Served over linquine w/ garlic baquettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is to die for. I made the breasts whole and served over wild rice with a side of green beans. Like another reviewer, I didn't feel the need to cook the chicken before it went in the oven, so I just browned it in the same pan as the mushrooms to seal in the juices. It came out tender and definitely cooked after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was easy to make, but just not that good. I've had other chicken recipes that combine soups with mayo and wine and they've turned out great. This one however just didn't do it. Since the chicken is in the oven for an hour at 350 I didn't see the need to pre-cook it. I just layered the chicken and mushrooms and poured the sauce over it. The chicken was tender, but I won't be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States