Wine Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This marinade is delicious and I used it with a nice pork chop. I didn't have long to marinate this so I just baked it in the oven and let the sauce reduce and thicken. I substituted real ginger for the powder and honey for the molasses. I added some red pepper flakes for some heat. YUMMM!!! and quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Chapple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
We used this marinade on a pork tenderloin this evening and we just loved it! I usually don't care for marinades that are heavy on the soy sauce, but I was impressed how well it turned out. We used low sodium soy sauce and a lighter shiraz, which helped and the molasses flavor is subtle and really, really good. Brown sugar would have been great here too. Just that little bit of sweetness from the molasses added a nice crust from the grill on the outside of the meat and it was tender and perfect on the inside. We also did another tenderloin with straight bbq sauce just in case we didn't like this marinade, and there was a ton of the bbq tenderloin left over and none of this one!!! A sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I doubled the amount of red wine and added less soy and half the sugar and they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NISKU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I changed the recipe a little bit based on what I had in the house. I only had a soy sauce marinade, which is really just soy sauce and sugar. So I used 3/4 cups of the marinade instead of 1/2 cup and I used 1 1/2 tbsp of sugar instead of 3 tbsp. I also used brown sugar instead of molasses. The wine I used was a shiraz. The marinade was delicious, and I'm sure it would be even better if I followed the ingredients more precisely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I used this on chicken kabobs which I marinated for about 4 hours before grilling. The resulting chicken was tender and moist with a mildly sweet flavor. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was great! I marinated fresh pork in this overnight, and it was delicious! I added extra garlic (probably double), and a bit extra ginger to give it a little more kick. I will definitely use this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a regular in our house. The only change I made was to flip the soy sauce and wine measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnyb_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cibolo, Texas, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I really liked this marinade. It gave my pork chops LOTS of flavor. I used splenda instead of real sugar and I used Merlot for the wine. I put slightly less molasses because it's so strong. Very good recipe and I would think it would be safe for children because the alcohol cooks out of it but still adds some flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
We had this tonight, marinated for only 1 1/2 hours with Costco's pork brisket grillers (really a nice cut). It was kind of a last minute idea, but it was really worth the try. I made the marinade exactly as stated, and I grilled the pork for only about 15 minutes on indirect heat. We'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I used this on pork chops and neither the husband nor I liked it at all. Maybe it was my wine choice--I used red cooking wine as I didn't have any regular red wine. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States