Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe! So easy and very good. Only thing I changed was that I used liquid pectin instead of powder and it turned out fine. Used white wine and it's very pretty as well as tasty! Will definitely be making more for the upcoming holidays to try with the cream cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at jelly making and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. I had a bottle of red zinfandel that I had taken 2 sips of and didn't care for and decided to go for it. I was nervous, as most people seem to use white zin or chardonnay. I didn't know if the very dry, spicy red zin I had was going to work but it definitely did. As you take a bite, the jelly is sweet and tastes spicey and grapey at first, then you get a little wine kick right at the end. You'll need an entire bottle of wine and it yielded 6 1/2 pint jars with a bit leftover. I used a little extra dry pectin to try to get it to 2 oz. It's setting up slowly a little loose but still can definitely pass for jelly consistency. I'm going to make more today using a Gewurztraminer. I imagine that you could use just about any type of wine and get great results. They're going to make very impressive gifts. A fabulous idea and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is by far the very best jelly I have ever had or made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGuru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I used a cheap pinot grigio. I actually loved the jelly - it's just slightly zingily sweet(not "wine-y" at all) and great with cream cheese on crackers.It's pretty in the jar too. And really a cinch to make up. I would give it a 5 but it didn't seem to impress the folks I gave it to last Christmas.Not wanting to seem too easily impressed by the fruit of my labor, I decided on a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I just made a batch of this and it is in the water canner. I used homemade blueberry wine. The color is gorgeous and the tatse devine! Since my powdered pectin was only 1.75 ounces, it set beautifully. Next batch will be with homemade blackberry wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Everyone in my family loved this jelly so much! Will definitely be making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM_200

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
The best way of using up unwanted, cheap wine that I've found! Delicious, and I made this for Christmas gifts, one batch with Merlot and one with Chardonnay. Very easy, even for an extremely novice jellymaker like me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Looked lovely and tastes delcious with cream or brie cheese. Gave them out as Christmas Gifts. One friend commented that her mother stole the gift and shared it reminds her of the old days. Will make again and hand out as Christmas gifts next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Really good! I used a white zinfandel I had and it had a great flavor and came out a very pretty pink! I am giving these as gifts to my dad, sister and brother who are all wine lovers, for christmas along with some other jellies and things I made. I made up my own labels on the computer and put them on the different jellies. Great gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very good jelly made with a not so great Zin. No problems setting up but I did use the full 2 oz. of dry pectin. (the box was only 1.75 oz. so I added a little.) Great on crackers with a spread of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States