Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is the coolest recipe! I used a really yucky generic red wine my husband got by mistake and it completely changes character and is totally delicious as a jelly. You definitely need the 6 oz. of pectin though. Doesn't need to be an appetizer jelly...really good on toast. The wine flavor comes in late and is not overpowering at all. Also, it is very beautiful in the jars. Will make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very yummy and a pretty light pink color if you use the white zin. I tried it a day after making it and it was slightly boozy for my taste but it did taste like what the name suggests, Wine Jelly. I still canned up several jars for Christmas and will put a pack of crackers along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I have officially died and gone to heaven. I have been wanting to make this for several weeks, and I could kick myself for waiting for so long! Used a VERY cheap Blackberry Merlot (on sale for 3.88 with tax). I'm excited to see what other flavors I can come up with! This doesnt taste wine-y at all. Just nice and fruity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe! So easy and very good. Only thing I changed was that I used liquid pectin instead of powder and it turned out fine. Used white wine and it's very pretty as well as tasty! Will definitely be making more for the upcoming holidays to try with the cream cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at jelly making and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. I had a bottle of red zinfandel that I had taken 2 sips of and didn't care for and decided to go for it. I was nervous, as most people seem to use white zin or chardonnay. I didn't know if the very dry, spicy red zin I had was going to work but it definitely did. As you take a bite, the jelly is sweet and tastes spicey and grapey at first, then you get a little wine kick right at the end. You'll need an entire bottle of wine and it yielded 6 1/2 pint jars with a bit leftover. I used a little extra dry pectin to try to get it to 2 oz. It's setting up slowly a little loose but still can definitely pass for jelly consistency. I'm going to make more today using a Gewurztraminer. I imagine that you could use just about any type of wine and get great results. They're going to make very impressive gifts. A fabulous idea and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is by far the very best jelly I have ever had or made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenGuru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I used a cheap pinot grigio. I actually loved the jelly - it's just slightly zingily sweet(not "wine-y" at all) and great with cream cheese on crackers.It's pretty in the jar too. And really a cinch to make up. I would give it a 5 but it didn't seem to impress the folks I gave it to last Christmas.Not wanting to seem too easily impressed by the fruit of my labor, I decided on a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I just made a batch of this and it is in the water canner. I used homemade blueberry wine. The color is gorgeous and the tatse devine! Since my powdered pectin was only 1.75 ounces, it set beautifully. Next batch will be with homemade blackberry wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Everyone in my family loved this jelly so much! Will definitely be making more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM_200

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
The best way of using up unwanted, cheap wine that I've found! Delicious, and I made this for Christmas gifts, one batch with Merlot and one with Chardonnay. Very easy, even for an extremely novice jellymaker like me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States