Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used this Jelly to make a Jelly Roll!!! Unique, easy and tastes really good. Not just a hint of wine, it really tastes like wine. After reading other peoples tips I added extra pectin (one and a half 1.75oz pkgs.) , but it made mine too firm, even hard to spread. I used Two Buck Chuck (Charles Shaw- its a $2.99 bottle of wine at Trader Joes) and tried several flavors. The Merlot is nice. I've never made jelly before and this was great even for the beginner. Hint: I didn't have a canner so I used a big pot with a lid and I put a round wire cake cooling rake in the bottom of the pot. Worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
THIS WAS AWESOME! I made it with my daughter and she had a blast! I made 2 modifications: First, I used bottled lemon juice because the USDA told me so. Second, I used 3.5 oz of dry pectin because other reviewers stated the jelly was a bit runny. Also, I used the cheapest bottle of White Zinfandel I could find at Wally World for $3.00. All in all, the recipe was great! The color was a beautiful pink/blush and the taste was pretty much grape jelly with a White Zinfandel after taste. Awesomeness is a better description for the taste so I'll leave it at that. With the original recipe, I made 6 jelly jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a great recipe. I didn't change the recipe at all and made 1 batch of cabernet sauvignon and 1 batch of white zinfandel (which came out a beautiful pink). I gave them as Christmas presents to my co-workers and they loved them. A lady in my office even used it as part of her glaze for meatballs. Thanks for a wonderful and elegant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This tasted okay, but a little too much like wine for my taste. I followed the recipe exactly and it set up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My sis in law and I made these for Christmas gifts. Using wine glasses as the one poster suggested. They turned out beautifully and the wine was so delicious! I can't wait to make more for everyone at the office. SO easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Use Merlot! Rich, fruity and gorgeous. Spread on salmon steaks, then bake them, and oh, wow! The only disappointment is that it calls for _more_than_ one bottle of wine. Just barely. You have to buy 3 bottles to make 2 batches of jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe, as written. I had no problem with the jelly setting up with the powder pectin. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon first, then a White Zinfandel. Between the two, I actually preferred the Cabernet. There is a very pleasant, soft, light wine flavor. One reviewer gave hers as gifts but they didn't seem received well... What I did was invite people over for an open house, and actually served the White Zin over cream cheese with crackers, and the Cab was included in 2 desserts, one a pear tart with the Cab glaze, and the other I took a pound cake, cut in half, poked holes, heated jelly til it was pourable, poured it on the 2 sides of the pound cake, let it soak in... then I put whipped cream on the top of the bottom layer, replaced the top layer, then piped rosettes on top. It presented beautifully, and it gave my guests an opportunity to try what they were getting. This opened their minds to how good it really was. I also told them it was yummy on ice cream, too. A lot of people can't picture how things can be used, until you show them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm rating this recipe on the ease of making this. I was so confused on a couple of things so I hope this helps the next virgin jelly maker. I have never made jelly before so I had no "canning tools" I did have a big pot and I set the jars on my steamer and it worked fine. So I couldn't find a 2oz package of pectin. My market only had 1.75oz. One of the other folks on the site said her market carried it in the 2oz size. Ours carried the Sure Jell and the house brand only. The jelly had turned to pure liquid after the 5 minute processing time. This had me concerned because it looked like the jelly was more set prior to the processing. Also, when I took the jars out I heard the lids "pop" which I think is normal. It is also normal to see air bubbles coming from the jars (I thought water may have gotten into mine and that was why they were runny) Also, the bands on the lids had loosened- this is normal too. You just leave them and then tighten them after they sit for 12-24 hours. My jelly did not start to set until several hours after they were made. The ball site said some jelly's take longer than others to set. By some of the reviews I thought they would set up right away. Finally, I think this jelly is supposed to be a little soft so it can be used on top of cream cheese or as a glaze. If you put to much pectin in it you will get a stiff jelly- more like for a sandwich. All in all a good experience and I will try again. By the way, I used a Cabernet Sauvign
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I just made this with the liquid pectin and some of my favorite white zinf. Very good! Has a light wine flavor that turns to sweet, not boozy. I just had it on some toast and it was great! I made several jars to give as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkha00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe for first time jelly makers like me. I was so afraid I was going to screw this up somehow, but the end result was just as I hoped. I used a combination of white zin and another white wine that I wasn't fond of and it came out great - there's just a touch of wine taste - not overpowering at all; very pleasant. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States