Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Well, I figured there were more good than bad reviews, so I thought I'd give the recipe a try. I mean, I've made homemade applebutter, homemade preserves... how hard could this recipe be? Answer: None of the jars set. I'm going to have to go the "wine sauce" route some other folks have mentioned. There is something inherently wrong in this recipe. Wish I could tell you what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWOWEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
For those reviewers having trouble with jelly not setting, it is not a good idea to doublew or tripe the recipe, that usually results in problems making jams and jellies. Also, the ratio of acid, sugar, and pectin is very important, so that could have been an issue as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Just made a white zindfendel for a breast cancer party I'm going to. Looks wonderful and tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irrigon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I just made this with a fruity red sangria and it came out wonderful. I had no problems with it setting with only one pouch of powdered petcin. You can not start timing the minute until it come to a HARD boil which is where is looks really foamy. Thanks for the great recipe. I plan on taking some of the jam on our wine tour next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella V.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used a cheap blackberry wine jelly that I had picked up yesterday, and the flavor is sooo good! This was my first time EVER canning jelly, so I was a little nervous at first, especially with the descrepencies about how much pectin to use. I used TWO 1.75 ounce boxes, and the consistency is really nice. It isn't hard, but it isn't soft either. I had some this morning on a biscuit with cream cheese, and I was quite impressed with myself :) Easy recipe, inexpensive to make, and great for a beginner canner. Just remember to double up on the pectin! Also- a little trick I learned from my Nana- If you don't have a canning rack, just fold a towel and place it at the bottom of the pot before filling with water. The towel will keep the jars off the bottom of the pot, and will help them not to rattle around too much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Outstanding recipe. The jelly turned out perfectly. I saw that the recipe called for two ounces of pectin but most packages come in 1.75 ounce packages. Be sure to add enough to make it precisely 2.0 ounces. One addition to my batch, I steeped some Rosemary sprigs and discarded before boiling the mixture. I added a bit of Rosemary to each jar before filling. After processing for 10 minutes I inverted the jars for cooling. Once looking like they were beginning to set well, I flipped the jars over to keep the Rosemary on the bottom. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe, but the amounts need to be adjusted. First, use a 750mL bottle of wine, which equals one bottle. Second, dry pectin only comes in 1-3/4 oz packages, so don't put in more than one package of pectin. Keep lemon juice and sugar as is, along with directions. I made this an it congealed perfectly. Also, I ended up with six 1/2 pint jars with some left over, not 5 jars, so be prepared to have extra jars if needed. Overall, great recipe and all my co-workers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a quick and easy recipe that is good to use up wine with. However, I tamed the sharpness with a little tiny bit of freshly grated nutmeg. A pinch. It came out much better. Also keep to the recipe, as I went over with a batch by 1/2 cup of liquid and it didn't set as well. Otherwise - great easy recipe! I gave it a 4 only because I could make it a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used Sangria and it turned out wonderful. This is great with sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I just made it and it's currently in post-processing as I type this. I couldn't resist a lick of the ladle after I got the jars into the boiling water and I have to say, even if it doesn't set for some unforseen reason, its's going to be DELICIOUS! I had to reduce the recipe since the bottle of Red Diamond Merlot I was using had EXACTLY 3 cups in it, but it made 6 beautiful 12 oz jars of what I'm certainly hoping is going to be a delicious addition to breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States