Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Incredibly easy and a great way to use undrinkable or left-over wine. I had a bottle of Merlot that I couldn't drink and it made some wonderful jelly. I only used a 1.75oz packet of the powder pectin, and it set just fine, but for the second boil I made sure it got up to 219 or 220 degrees to make sure the pectin activated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I would give this five stars for taste, but I ran into something that was a real pain. I used white port wine to make the jelly and it ended up having black flecks in it. We read that this may have been pectin that overheated when it hit the bottom of the pan. It seems that if you heat the wine and lemon juice first and then gradually sprinkle in the pectin, it will dissolve before it hits the bottom of the pan, eliminating the black flecks. Next time though, I'm going to use red wine! That said, it tasted marvelous and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
An excellent recipe I come back to again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htucker71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Tough to get it to firm up. Dang it. Still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This tasted really good! Friends were impressed. I used a cheap Cabernet and the jelly came out with a subtle wine flavor and aroma. Very neat idea. My only issue was that I had never canned anything before and I had too look up what the recipe meant by process for 5 min in a boiling water bath... Didn't know it the water should cover the canning jars completely,etc. So I had to do my research elsewhere. I boiled them under water and they all sealed up nicely. Also didn't know how to tell if it was sealed properly..(push down on the center on the lid and make sure it doesn't bounce up and down) ~~a few tips for my fellow beginner jelly makers!!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made 3 batches....blueberry wine, muscadine wine, & Asti Blanco. All 3 were awful to drink but made great jellies! Followed the recipe as directed and each batch turned out perfectly!! Great over cream cheese served on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Easy, yummy and a great gift. Read the reviews and made sure that I measured ingredients exactly. Set up perfect. Used a shiraz. Can't wait to try a white. May try an ice wine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was very easy recipe and quick to make, because there is no prepping the fruit....just pour it out of the bottle. I used a 1.75 oz plus 1/4 of another box of pectin and it set up fine. Like some of the other commenters, I believe the trick is to wait until you have a full rolling boil that can't be stirred down and then count your minute. I used a cheap 8.00 bottle of sweet red wine and was able to make two separate batches of six half pints each. It turned out a deep red and is sweet and tart. I recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I have never made jelly before, so this was definitely a learning experience! Other than overflowing the pot of hot jelly, this recipe was amazingly easy to follow, not to mention delicious!! It made a little more than what it said it would and I just poured that little bit into a container I had. Once it set up, I couldn't stop eating it! The flavor is amazing and not too much like wine. I'm giving these out to my wine loving friends. I hope they enjoy it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I too read the reviews seeing that A LOT of people had issues. I added an extra teaspon of pectin to the 1.75 oz box. I found my red wine jellies did not set. I pretty much had to remake all of my jellies following the directions for normal jelly not setting. After doing so my white zin turned out perfectly, my mascoto was good from the start. I also used Shiraz-had to remake and still extremely soft, and port-although good flavor-is going to be a sauce. It still did not set AT ALL. I keep torturing myself be trying to make different kinds. I think IF I do this next year I will try 3 cups of wine(1 bottle) and 1 and 1/2 box pectin to see how that turns out. It does look pretty in the wine glasses with wax. I am giving it 3 stars because flavor is good on all. Whit zin is definately a keeper(and I usually don't like white zin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States