Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The two reviews below (JW and the one after) are right. The "syrup" should be off the heat when the pectin is added. I haven't seen a wine jelly recipe before that uses dry pectin, only liquid. They aren't interchangeable, so I'll add a few that use liquid. You can't heat anything above 212F without a pressure cooker! It's not possible, at least at sea level. This jelly is more than acidic enough to be canned by the water bath method. I've never even seen a jelly recipe that requires pressure canning. I think the person giving that tip must be a little confused about it. You'd have to pressure can low-acid foods, but not those with a pH below 4.6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hope.h

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wow! I had wine that I thought was only good for....well...good for nothing! The only thing I did different was after a minute of hard boil, I took the pot off the heat and I added one package of liquid pectin (Certo). I had perfectly set, really good wine jelly which will be ging to various freinds this Christmas with crackers and brie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Although I have not made this yet but plan to I have read many reviews stating there was a problem with setting. Pectin will not set if it over heats, it breaks down. Might try adding the pectin after you remove the mixture from heat and allow to cool for about two minutes. I am going to attempt and will let you know if it helped. :) thanks so much for the recipe can't wait to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Finished making this about 1 1/2 hours ago and it's setting wonderfully. I used a bottle of La Crema Pinot Noir, 1 box plus 1 1/2 t of Sure Jell pectin and fresh (picked today off a friend's tree) lemon juice. One reviewer mentioned making sure the temp reaches 220. I made it to 210 but couldn't get it higher. When I hit 210, I let it boil for another minute. It was so good I was licking the pan and the utensils I used. For those who didn't like the flavor, as with anything else you cook with wine, don't use a bottle you wouldn't normally drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I put it on salami as an appetizer and its in most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I used two 3 oz pectin packs instead of one 2 oz powder pectin pack, and my jelly set up beautifully. The jelly has a definite wine aroma, and as a nondrinker I still thought it had a wine taste to it, although the alcoholic aftertaste was gone. This will get mixed reviews, even from wine lovers. One wine lover in my household adored it and thought it was a novel concept, and the other thought it was weird, even when it was served with cream cheese and crackers as recommended. I think including a mini recipe booklet of recipes to use this with would be helpful, especially including things like cakes drenched in melted wine jelly, or using it as the base of a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Excellent idea for wine we don't like to drink..easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Amazing jelly. For those of you that got a wine sauce, I suggest that you check the proof of the wine you are using. The higher the proof, the harder it will be for the jelly to set. Alcohol doesn't exactly "set", so the higher the alcohol content, the increased likeliness of a wine "sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this with a cheap cabernet sauvignon. I doubted myself when it came to the jelly setting, so I opened all my jars and re-boiled everything. I wish I hadn't, the only part that didn't set was a little bit on top; everything else was fine. I ate it on regular toast with butter. I can't wait to try it with cream cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
this was great over cream cheese with crackers. my first batch I didn't read the instructions clearly and did not set. 2nd batch I made sure to read carefully, and it turned out great. Fyi, a 750ml bottle of wine is just under 3.5 cups, so no need to measure out the bottle. I tried it with a cabernet, I think I will try next a merlot and riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States