Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Excellent idea for wine we don't like to drink..easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Amazing jelly. For those of you that got a wine sauce, I suggest that you check the proof of the wine you are using. The higher the proof, the harder it will be for the jelly to set. Alcohol doesn't exactly "set", so the higher the alcohol content, the increased likeliness of a wine "sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this with a cheap cabernet sauvignon. I doubted myself when it came to the jelly setting, so I opened all my jars and re-boiled everything. I wish I hadn't, the only part that didn't set was a little bit on top; everything else was fine. I ate it on regular toast with butter. I can't wait to try it with cream cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
this was great over cream cheese with crackers. my first batch I didn't read the instructions clearly and did not set. 2nd batch I made sure to read carefully, and it turned out great. Fyi, a 750ml bottle of wine is just under 3.5 cups, so no need to measure out the bottle. I tried it with a cabernet, I think I will try next a merlot and riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I revised my review. I made the jelly yesterday morning. It did not jell. But this morning I woke up and tried it. It had jellled. So delicious. I made it with Brotherhood Christmas spiced wine. Wow! These are really nice Christmas gifts. Conclusion -- Wine jelly takes at least 24 hours to jell. I did alot more reading about making jelly. It seems as long as you boil - rolling explosive boil-- for the one timed minute after adding the sugar to get the temperature up, it should not fail to jell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was not only my first time canning but I also halved the recipe (which I've read is a big no-no) and it came out perfect! I used an Okanagan Shiraz and followed the directions to a T... it gelled and sealed! What a great introduction to jelly-making--thanks Juanita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it did not set up...I'm confused and disappointed...the remainder in the bottom of the pot set up fine, but not the jars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious made it with a Merlot and Champagne turned out perfect. Just make sure the dry pectin is 2 oz. Sure jell is 1.75 will need to add a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Awesome recipe. I used leftover wine (I know--- leftover wine....how is this possible???). But anyway, I always put any leftover wine in ice cube trays and freeze until ready to use as boullion cubes or for whatever. This time I used my frozen red wine cubes to make this recipe and it came out great! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made my first batch last night and I'm getting ready to make a second batch today. The final product was much sweeter than I expected but still tasty. I tried infusing the wine with pink peppercorns and dried tart cherries before making the jelly, and I can taste the cherries in the final jelly but definitely need more peppercorns. Mine set up perfectly with no problems. For those who had problems with the jelly setting, I would say #1 don't increase the proportions, if you want more jelly make separate batches, as proportion of ingredients is crucial. #2 don't try switching liquid for dry pectin, #3 make adjustments for altitude as necessary, and #4 don't start timing until the jelly reaches a HARD rolling boil - this is crucial - once the jelly is boiling hard and continues to boil with constant stirring, THEN start timing your one minute. This will allow the pectin to properly activate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States