Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
My son-in-law, bless his heart, bought me a huge bottle of cheap chardonnay. I am not usually a wine snob but I could hardly make it through one glass. I froze some in ice cubes to use, in case of an emergency, in dishes when I am out of the good stuff but still had a lot left over. This recipe took a cheap, undrinkable wine & turned it into one of the best jellies I've had! I haven't tried it w/ cream cheese yet (not sure I will...I really like sweet pepper jelly for that) but it was wonderful on a buttered biscuit. There is a winish aroma to it but not in the flavor...not even a piquant aftertaste. LOL It really tastes like a gourmet white grape jelly...very good! I did not use a water bath on mine...I used the inversion method & every jar sealed. Oh, & I used a 3 oz. liquid pack of pectin instead of 2 oz. of dry...no problems w/ it setting up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Wonderful!!... I pour the jelly in wine glasses and seal it with parrifin wax to give as gifts. The presentation is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
I have made this with Burgandy and Chardonnay. It is so odd - with the burgandy you think you are eating grape jelly (because of the colour) - and then you get this wine after-kick. It is really very good and very easy - they are very pretty made up, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe, as written. I had no problem with the jelly setting up with the powder pectin. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon first, then a White Zinfandel. Between the two, I actually preferred the Cabernet. There is a very pleasant, soft, light wine flavor. One reviewer gave hers as gifts but they didn't seem received well... What I did was invite people over for an open house, and actually served the White Zin over cream cheese with crackers, and the Cab was included in 2 desserts, one a pear tart with the Cab glaze, and the other I took a pound cake, cut in half, poked holes, heated jelly til it was pourable, poured it on the 2 sides of the pound cake, let it soak in... then I put whipped cream on the top of the bottom layer, replaced the top layer, then piped rosettes on top. It presented beautifully, and it gave my guests an opportunity to try what they were getting. This opened their minds to how good it really was. I also told them it was yummy on ice cream, too. A lot of people can't picture how things can be used, until you show them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
The flavor of this recipe is great but the consistency is not right for a jelly. It is more like a sauce. Taking warning from the other posters, I used 3 oz of liquid pectin and it is still not jelly consistency. I think I would use about 6 oz to get it to gel correctly. The flavor is very tasty though. I the leftovers of 3 bottles of wine I had around. Since I made 7 (8 oz) jars intended for gifts, I am going to market it as "wine sauce" to be used as topping for cheesecake, ice cream or chocolate cake. Or as a dipping sauce or marinade for chicken or shrimp. If you want to make this as a jelly, I would use 6 oz of liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Wine jelly is delicious whatever wine you use. I prefer white to eat on toast or fruit. Wine jellys are great for begginers to start with. They can be finished under an hour and there is no fruit preparation which can take hours to make. We happen to make our own wine so it's fairly cheap too. When making white wine jelly, I reduce my wine in half by boiling it on the stove to increase the flavor. You can add herbs of choice savoury or perfumed, or citrus rinds when reducing to flavour your jelly. Strain before adding sugar and pectin. This recipe is a larger size than most wine jellys, for those that use liquid certo pectin packets I recomend two. I made two batches with one each but the jelly was on the soft side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Wonderful! I made two batches following the recipe exactly, one Merlot and one Chardonnay. Really tasty with cream cheese and crackers as the recipe author states. Also will be good as a glaze on roasts I think. I added a sprig of rosemary and some peppercorns to my Merlot jars and added some chopped candied ginger and sage to my Chardonnay jars. I used powdered pectin as listed and had no problem with it setting to a jelly consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I was looking forward to this one so much. It had great reviews as well. I made it the first time, it didn't set up. I made it a second time it didn't set up. I have made jelly before and this one just will not work for me. But I took the unset jelly and used it for pancake syrup. So it is not totally wasted. It was very good. But I sure would like to be able to make this. I am an experienced cook too. Have no idea what is wrong. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
i followed directions exactly, except that i blended three kinds of red wine. jelly set up exactly as it should in rapid time. tastes exquisite. going try putting some up in short stemmed wine glasses and seal w parafin along w crackers and brie as xmas gifts for friends and neighbors,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I love this recipe. So easy and evryone I serve it to just raves about it! We serve it with cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States