Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My sis in law and I made these for Christmas gifts. Using wine glasses as the one poster suggested. They turned out beautifully and the wine was so delicious! I can't wait to make more for everyone at the office. SO easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Use Merlot! Rich, fruity and gorgeous. Spread on salmon steaks, then bake them, and oh, wow! The only disappointment is that it calls for _more_than_ one bottle of wine. Just barely. You have to buy 3 bottles to make 2 batches of jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe, as written. I had no problem with the jelly setting up with the powder pectin. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon first, then a White Zinfandel. Between the two, I actually preferred the Cabernet. There is a very pleasant, soft, light wine flavor. One reviewer gave hers as gifts but they didn't seem received well... What I did was invite people over for an open house, and actually served the White Zin over cream cheese with crackers, and the Cab was included in 2 desserts, one a pear tart with the Cab glaze, and the other I took a pound cake, cut in half, poked holes, heated jelly til it was pourable, poured it on the 2 sides of the pound cake, let it soak in... then I put whipped cream on the top of the bottom layer, replaced the top layer, then piped rosettes on top. It presented beautifully, and it gave my guests an opportunity to try what they were getting. This opened their minds to how good it really was. I also told them it was yummy on ice cream, too. A lot of people can't picture how things can be used, until you show them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm rating this recipe on the ease of making this. I was so confused on a couple of things so I hope this helps the next virgin jelly maker. I have never made jelly before so I had no "canning tools" I did have a big pot and I set the jars on my steamer and it worked fine. So I couldn't find a 2oz package of pectin. My market only had 1.75oz. One of the other folks on the site said her market carried it in the 2oz size. Ours carried the Sure Jell and the house brand only. The jelly had turned to pure liquid after the 5 minute processing time. This had me concerned because it looked like the jelly was more set prior to the processing. Also, when I took the jars out I heard the lids "pop" which I think is normal. It is also normal to see air bubbles coming from the jars (I thought water may have gotten into mine and that was why they were runny) Also, the bands on the lids had loosened- this is normal too. You just leave them and then tighten them after they sit for 12-24 hours. My jelly did not start to set until several hours after they were made. The ball site said some jelly's take longer than others to set. By some of the reviews I thought they would set up right away. Finally, I think this jelly is supposed to be a little soft so it can be used on top of cream cheese or as a glaze. If you put to much pectin in it you will get a stiff jelly- more like for a sandwich. All in all a good experience and I will try again. By the way, I used a Cabernet Sauvign
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I just made this with the liquid pectin and some of my favorite white zinf. Very good! Has a light wine flavor that turns to sweet, not boozy. I just had it on some toast and it was great! I made several jars to give as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarkha00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe for first time jelly makers like me. I was so afraid I was going to screw this up somehow, but the end result was just as I hoped. I used a combination of white zin and another white wine that I wasn't fond of and it came out great - there's just a touch of wine taste - not overpowering at all; very pleasant. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is the coolest recipe! I used a really yucky generic red wine my husband got by mistake and it completely changes character and is totally delicious as a jelly. You definitely need the 6 oz. of pectin though. Doesn't need to be an appetizer jelly...really good on toast. The wine flavor comes in late and is not overpowering at all. Also, it is very beautiful in the jars. Will make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very yummy and a pretty light pink color if you use the white zin. I tried it a day after making it and it was slightly boozy for my taste but it did taste like what the name suggests, Wine Jelly. I still canned up several jars for Christmas and will put a pack of crackers along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I have officially died and gone to heaven. I have been wanting to make this for several weeks, and I could kick myself for waiting for so long! Used a VERY cheap Blackberry Merlot (on sale for 3.88 with tax). I'm excited to see what other flavors I can come up with! This doesnt taste wine-y at all. Just nice and fruity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe! So easy and very good. Only thing I changed was that I used liquid pectin instead of powder and it turned out fine. Used white wine and it's very pretty as well as tasty! Will definitely be making more for the upcoming holidays to try with the cream cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States