Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is a terrific recipe for gift-giving. I made it with apple cider (bought in the grocery store) then made a second batch and added a little cinnamon & nutmeg and called it "apple pie" jelly. I also made it with a berry flavored wine and a French Beaujolais red wine that I had in the fridge for months because I didn't like it. All turned out great, but the red wines made the prettiest package for gifts. The "Beaujolais red" had the most aroma when it was opened. The appple cider jelly tastes great on cinnamon toast. It's also good used as a sauce on pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
The flavor of this recipe is great but the consistency is not right for a jelly. It is more like a sauce. Taking warning from the other posters, I used 3 oz of liquid pectin and it is still not jelly consistency. I think I would use about 6 oz to get it to gel correctly. The flavor is very tasty though. I the leftovers of 3 bottles of wine I had around. Since I made 7 (8 oz) jars intended for gifts, I am going to market it as "wine sauce" to be used as topping for cheesecake, ice cream or chocolate cake. Or as a dipping sauce or marinade for chicken or shrimp. If you want to make this as a jelly, I would use 6 oz of liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made the jelly. smelled good. Looked good. How long do you have to wait before they gel-up? One week? One year? Just curious to know if I succeeded or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I was looking forward to this one so much. It had great reviews as well. I made it the first time, it didn't set up. I made it a second time it didn't set up. I have made jelly before and this one just will not work for me. But I took the unset jelly and used it for pancake syrup. So it is not totally wasted. It was very good. But I sure would like to be able to make this. I am an experienced cook too. Have no idea what is wrong. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is a perfect jelly! You can also use this to baste poultry before baking--gives it a great tangy taste. I also tried it with CHAMPAGNE and it gives off a wonderful "apple" taste--the color is absolutely fabulous with the champagne. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Josee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
My son-in-law, bless his heart, bought me a huge bottle of cheap chardonnay. I am not usually a wine snob but I could hardly make it through one glass. I froze some in ice cubes to use, in case of an emergency, in dishes when I am out of the good stuff but still had a lot left over. This recipe took a cheap, undrinkable wine & turned it into one of the best jellies I've had! I haven't tried it w/ cream cheese yet (not sure I will...I really like sweet pepper jelly for that) but it was wonderful on a buttered biscuit. There is a winish aroma to it but not in the flavor...not even a piquant aftertaste. LOL It really tastes like a gourmet white grape jelly...very good! I did not use a water bath on mine...I used the inversion method & every jar sealed. Oh, & I used a 3 oz. liquid pack of pectin instead of 2 oz. of dry...no problems w/ it setting up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Wonderful!!... I pour the jelly in wine glasses and seal it with parrifin wax to give as gifts. The presentation is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
What a fantastic idea! I have friends who enjoy wine and they really loved this as a gift this year. I used a white merlot which was beautiful in appearance and retains its flavor perfectly. I serve it with crackers and cream cheese. I can't wait to try different wines! Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Overall, very easy to make and lovely taste. I used a merlot. However, they did not gel up as much as I would have liked and that may be b/c I did not use standard canning jars but the type of jars w/the silver locking tab on them. I figured it would make for a prettier gift jar. My friends enjoyed the jelly on crackers w/cream cheese and remarked it was 'very refreshing'. I will definitely make it again, with the correct jars this time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Very yummy and makes an excellent gift. Wonderful with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States