Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was very good, I gave some away as gifts and people loved it! I did serve it with cream cheese and crackers which works well. I will be giving more for Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe -- made it last week for Christmas gifts and I'm already making my second batch. Will use again and again, experimenting with different wines, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was a great recipe! I used a cheap merlot...flavor was great! I tripled the recipe and had no problems. I used 1.75 oz. packages of powdered fruit pectin. No problems setting up. It was definetely a jelly consistency. I think next time I will try it with the low sugar pectin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Brookline, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Yummy! Mine came out perfect. The thing I noticed is the recipe calls for a 2 oz packet of pectin, the packets I have are 1.75 oz, so I added a little extra and the consistency is wonderful. I used my favorite (inexpensive) brand of Shiraz. I can't wait to try it with a white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I used half cheap merolot and half cheap lambrusco and had fabulous results! I used the powder pectin as stated in the recipe and my jelly was perfect. I have no idea what happened with other reviewers... the only thing I did differently was that i put mine in plastic containers and placed it in the fridge because I don't know how to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I read where other reviewers had trouble with the consistency of this recipe so the first time used the liquid pectin and doubled it. Boy, it set right up! It didn't seem to affect the taste as far as I can tell. The second batch, I only used one envelope of the liquid. It had set up by the next morning. In both cases I used a Chablis. The jelly tastes just like white grapes. It's very pretty and quite tasty. I'll be making some more to give in gift baskets. This time I'm going to use a Rose`. I really like this recipe. I'm new to jelly making. This recipe gives a lot of room to experiment. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is a terrific recipe for gift-giving. I made it with apple cider (bought in the grocery store) then made a second batch and added a little cinnamon & nutmeg and called it "apple pie" jelly. I also made it with a berry flavored wine and a French Beaujolais red wine that I had in the fridge for months because I didn't like it. All turned out great, but the red wines made the prettiest package for gifts. The "Beaujolais red" had the most aroma when it was opened. The appple cider jelly tastes great on cinnamon toast. It's also good used as a sauce on pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
The flavor of this recipe is great but the consistency is not right for a jelly. It is more like a sauce. Taking warning from the other posters, I used 3 oz of liquid pectin and it is still not jelly consistency. I think I would use about 6 oz to get it to gel correctly. The flavor is very tasty though. I the leftovers of 3 bottles of wine I had around. Since I made 7 (8 oz) jars intended for gifts, I am going to market it as "wine sauce" to be used as topping for cheesecake, ice cream or chocolate cake. Or as a dipping sauce or marinade for chicken or shrimp. If you want to make this as a jelly, I would use 6 oz of liquid pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made the jelly. smelled good. Looked good. How long do you have to wait before they gel-up? One week? One year? Just curious to know if I succeeded or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Etherton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I was looking forward to this one so much. It had great reviews as well. I made it the first time, it didn't set up. I made it a second time it didn't set up. I have made jelly before and this one just will not work for me. But I took the unset jelly and used it for pancake syrup. So it is not totally wasted. It was very good. But I sure would like to be able to make this. I am an experienced cook too. Have no idea what is wrong. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENACITY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States