Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Good recipe, I how ever also had a wine sauce, not jelly. Not sure what went wrong...maybe too high of alcohol content?!?? Just dont know..even tried fixing it per sure-gel directions from their web site...was afraid might end up with wine cement...but still just sauce. (All the better to dip my toast in! Ha!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
i used less sugar, set wonderfully , now my daughter wants me to make it for part of her favors at her baby shower , and yes we are using the wine jelly also with chedder/parm thumb print cookies for the shower, I use a blush wine, very pretty and works well considering my daughter is now having a baby girl :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Mahoney
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This was a hit! I used cheap Cabernet and packaged it in small souffle cups for a food swap I attended. I served it with crackers to rave reviews. Tip: Use the cheap stuff! It turns out brilliantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Mahoney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Does anyone know if the wine can be sustituted for a craft beer? I haven't even tried the wine yet, although I'm going to very soon, but I've high hopes for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annieorose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome!! This was fantastic. Like a lot of people, I used 1.75 oz pectin to 1 bottle of wine, and they set up just fine (except one batch, but I suspect it might be because it was boiling over so I took it off the heat early). We made 2 batches of pinot grigio, 1 batch of malbec, and 1 batch of white zinfandel. Each batch made 6 half pint jars + 1 or 2 4 oz. jars. The half pints are going to all our friends for Christmas presents, but we're keeping the 4 oz jars for ourselves! They taste amazing. So great on bread with a bit of cheese. I can't wait to share them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I reduced the wine to 3 cups, reduced the lemon juice to just under 1/2 cup and increased the sugar to 4 1/3. I have to say, it set beautifully and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
No thx, was terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1.75 oz dry pectin. Like another reviewer, there are some things I noticed that are perfectly normal: 1) The jelly will be near-liquid once the water bath is done. 2) Re-tighten your rings once the jars have cooled down enough to touch them and 3) It will start to appear to jell as you're spooning it into the jars. All these are normal. Mine jelled up to perfect spreading consistency after about 4 hours. All lids popped in to ensure they were sealed. If one doesn't pop, put that one in the fridge to use first. I used a cabernet sauvingnon that I found on clearance for $4.99. The taste of the jelly is very, very sweet with an a fruity, wine undertone. This was perfect with some freshly baked scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe but it did not jell for me. I ended up using it with Soy sauce and garlic as a sauce to slow cook my chicken legs in. Just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I just made this recipe two days ago using a cheap bottle of Sangria...WOW! We love it. Gave some to my neighbors and they just about finished the jar before I left their home. Looking forward to making again. A tasty fun recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States