Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is quick, easy and really good. I used bottled lemon juice because I am lazy and it was just fine. I used riesling and added birds eye chili to some jars, and dried lavender to others, and both additions were awesome!!! Just remember to turn the jars as the jelly sets if you add stuff so it's evenly suspended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I enjoy wine and this jelly, but the lemon juice flavor is a bit overpowering. I notice that one review stated that their jelly didn't set. You need to be careful that you have a good "hard" boil, and then time for EXACTLY 1 minute, not a gentle rolling boil. Try again and use this batch for marinade on chicken,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Wonderful! Made it as directed using Cabernet Sauvignon. Recipe made 6 + half pint jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I've never canned before, and decided to try this as my first. I had some $20 bottles of Napa Chardonnay I wanted to use. I followed the recipe exactly, and used 1/2 pint jars, properly sterilized and super-clean environment. I used the 1.75oz box of dry pectin at a rolling boil. The jars sealed, but the jelly did not set. So now I'm out 4 jars, and a $20 bottle of wine, and nothing to show for it but 4 jars of wine syrup. I think my next attempt will be will cheaper wine, or just putting the mix in tupperware and waiting for it to set in the fridge, then reheating and continuing with jarring it if it sets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This turned out really well for my first time. I used one bottle of a $3 wine from Wal-mart for each batch. I used white zin and a cab sauv. There seemed to be some problems with the pectin for other people, but it worked well for me. I used a 1.75 box, but put it in with the wine and sugar while I washed the jars. For the initial bring to boil, I set it on medium and let it slowly come to a boil rather than quick boiling. Make sure too it boils hard for a minute. This may have something to do with how it sets...The jelly does take a few hours to cool and set once all is done. I experimented a bit and put one in the refrigerator once it had cooled a little while and it really congealed quickly. The flavor was great! I was going to bring them to Thanksgiving as a little something for everyone. I made a little label on a word document and underneath the name put all the ways you could use it. I gave these away and everyone loved them. I'm now making more for coworkers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
loved this wine- made mine with a cabernet and it has a wonderful flavor. It is great on english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasbelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I enjoyed making this recipe. I had no experience with canning, but made it with my grandmother who has canned for years. We used an inexpensive merlot and it was delicious. I would like to try again to make it using the no or reduced sugar pectin and try it with splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Great recipe! The jelly tastes exactly like the wine you use. I thought that the sugar would take away from the flavor of my favorite wine....was happily surprised when the jelly turned out to taste the same!!! This will be a wonderful gift to give to my wine lover friend - decorate the jar & add the recipe and a bottle of wine! I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and had no issue - I checked a jar a few hours after and it set up beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy914

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and it turned out beautifully. I used some fairly inexpensive Zinfandel wine and the flavor was just lovely. I gave these as gifts with labels that told users to serve it over pork or cream cheese. Many of the recipients told me how much they enjoyed the jelly and I agree that it was tasty served over a pork tenderloin. Great, easy, inexpensive gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used this Jelly to make a Jelly Roll!!! Unique, easy and tastes really good. Not just a hint of wine, it really tastes like wine. After reading other peoples tips I added extra pectin (one and a half 1.75oz pkgs.) , but it made mine too firm, even hard to spread. I used Two Buck Chuck (Charles Shaw- its a $2.99 bottle of wine at Trader Joes) and tried several flavors. The Merlot is nice. I've never made jelly before and this was great even for the beginner. Hint: I didn't have a canner so I used a big pot with a lid and I put a round wire cake cooling rake in the bottom of the pot. Worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States