Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Bella V.
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used a cheap blackberry wine jelly that I had picked up yesterday, and the flavor is sooo good! This was my first time EVER canning jelly, so I was a little nervous at first, especially with the descrepencies about how much pectin to use. I used TWO 1.75 ounce boxes, and the consistency is really nice. It isn't hard, but it isn't soft either. I had some this morning on a biscuit with cream cheese, and I was quite impressed with myself :) Easy recipe, inexpensive to make, and great for a beginner canner. Just remember to double up on the pectin! Also- a little trick I learned from my Nana- If you don't have a canning rack, just fold a towel and place it at the bottom of the pot before filling with water. The towel will keep the jars off the bottom of the pot, and will help them not to rattle around too much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Outstanding recipe. The jelly turned out perfectly. I saw that the recipe called for two ounces of pectin but most packages come in 1.75 ounce packages. Be sure to add enough to make it precisely 2.0 ounces. One addition to my batch, I steeped some Rosemary sprigs and discarded before boiling the mixture. I added a bit of Rosemary to each jar before filling. After processing for 10 minutes I inverted the jars for cooling. Once looking like they were beginning to set well, I flipped the jars over to keep the Rosemary on the bottom. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe, but the amounts need to be adjusted. First, use a 750mL bottle of wine, which equals one bottle. Second, dry pectin only comes in 1-3/4 oz packages, so don't put in more than one package of pectin. Keep lemon juice and sugar as is, along with directions. I made this an it congealed perfectly. Also, I ended up with six 1/2 pint jars with some left over, not 5 jars, so be prepared to have extra jars if needed. Overall, great recipe and all my co-workers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a quick and easy recipe that is good to use up wine with. However, I tamed the sharpness with a little tiny bit of freshly grated nutmeg. A pinch. It came out much better. Also keep to the recipe, as I went over with a batch by 1/2 cup of liquid and it didn't set as well. Otherwise - great easy recipe! I gave it a 4 only because I could make it a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I used Sangria and it turned out wonderful. This is great with sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I just made it and it's currently in post-processing as I type this. I couldn't resist a lick of the ladle after I got the jars into the boiling water and I have to say, even if it doesn't set for some unforseen reason, its's going to be DELICIOUS! I had to reduce the recipe since the bottle of Red Diamond Merlot I was using had EXACTLY 3 cups in it, but it made 6 beautiful 12 oz jars of what I'm certainly hoping is going to be a delicious addition to breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Sooo easy! This was my first attempt at jelly making and it came out perfectly set and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love the flavor, it´s delicious. Can you give me an advice so I can have a marmalade or jam texture. For me it turn out too solid or hard. Thank you Hope you understand my english!! I am form Ecuador
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this for gifts this Christmas and I am making sure I save a jar for myself! This is some good stuff. I made it with White Zinfandel and tonight I am making some more using cab sauv and see how that turns out. The little left over from the first batch that didn't fit into a jar I just put in a recycled glass jar with a lid for myself in the fridge. Great on toast and biscuits. Great addition to my jelly making arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cottleville, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Super good. I made the recipe exactly as it said and it turned out perfectly. I think this is going to become an everyday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States