Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Love it! Used 1 box pectin (1.75 oz.) and my bottle of wine was just a hair short of 3.5 cups. Set up perfectly! I'm not a wine drinker and have several bottles that I have received as gifts. I've kept them temperature controlled so they would stay nice, for when I have 'wine' guests. This is an awesome way to use that wine! I'm going to use it all on jam! Well, most of it ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i had no problem with it setting. i have followed the recipe exactly though, i would think with wine jelly there's no wiggle room. i have made it many times with all different kinds of wine and it's always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Wonderfully easy recipe. First batch made with White Zin. Turned out wonderfully and such a pretty pink. Next batch will be with a Cab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZI42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Incredibly easy and a great way to use undrinkable or left-over wine. I had a bottle of Merlot that I couldn't drink and it made some wonderful jelly. I only used a 1.75oz packet of the powder pectin, and it set just fine, but for the second boil I made sure it got up to 219 or 220 degrees to make sure the pectin activated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I would give this five stars for taste, but I ran into something that was a real pain. I used white port wine to make the jelly and it ended up having black flecks in it. We read that this may have been pectin that overheated when it hit the bottom of the pan. It seems that if you heat the wine and lemon juice first and then gradually sprinkle in the pectin, it will dissolve before it hits the bottom of the pan, eliminating the black flecks. Next time though, I'm going to use red wine! That said, it tasted marvelous and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
An excellent recipe I come back to again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htucker71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Tough to get it to firm up. Dang it. Still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This tasted really good! Friends were impressed. I used a cheap Cabernet and the jelly came out with a subtle wine flavor and aroma. Very neat idea. My only issue was that I had never canned anything before and I had too look up what the recipe meant by process for 5 min in a boiling water bath... Didn't know it the water should cover the canning jars completely,etc. So I had to do my research elsewhere. I boiled them under water and they all sealed up nicely. Also didn't know how to tell if it was sealed properly..(push down on the center on the lid and make sure it doesn't bounce up and down) ~~a few tips for my fellow beginner jelly makers!!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Made 3 batches....blueberry wine, muscadine wine, & Asti Blanco. All 3 were awful to drink but made great jellies! Followed the recipe as directed and each batch turned out perfectly!! Great over cream cheese served on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Easy, yummy and a great gift. Read the reviews and made sure that I measured ingredients exactly. Set up perfect. Used a shiraz. Can't wait to try a white. May try an ice wine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States