Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
this was great over cream cheese with crackers. my first batch I didn't read the instructions clearly and did not set. 2nd batch I made sure to read carefully, and it turned out great. Fyi, a 750ml bottle of wine is just under 3.5 cups, so no need to measure out the bottle. I tried it with a cabernet, I think I will try next a merlot and riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I revised my review. I made the jelly yesterday morning. It did not jell. But this morning I woke up and tried it. It had jellled. So delicious. I made it with Brotherhood Christmas spiced wine. Wow! These are really nice Christmas gifts. Conclusion -- Wine jelly takes at least 24 hours to jell. I did alot more reading about making jelly. It seems as long as you boil - rolling explosive boil-- for the one timed minute after adding the sugar to get the temperature up, it should not fail to jell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was not only my first time canning but I also halved the recipe (which I've read is a big no-no) and it came out perfect! I used an Okanagan Shiraz and followed the directions to a T... it gelled and sealed! What a great introduction to jelly-making--thanks Juanita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it did not set up...I'm confused and disappointed...the remainder in the bottom of the pot set up fine, but not the jars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious made it with a Merlot and Champagne turned out perfect. Just make sure the dry pectin is 2 oz. Sure jell is 1.75 will need to add a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Awesome recipe. I used leftover wine (I know--- leftover wine....how is this possible???). But anyway, I always put any leftover wine in ice cube trays and freeze until ready to use as boullion cubes or for whatever. This time I used my frozen red wine cubes to make this recipe and it came out great! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made my first batch last night and I'm getting ready to make a second batch today. The final product was much sweeter than I expected but still tasty. I tried infusing the wine with pink peppercorns and dried tart cherries before making the jelly, and I can taste the cherries in the final jelly but definitely need more peppercorns. Mine set up perfectly with no problems. For those who had problems with the jelly setting, I would say #1 don't increase the proportions, if you want more jelly make separate batches, as proportion of ingredients is crucial. #2 don't try switching liquid for dry pectin, #3 make adjustments for altitude as necessary, and #4 don't start timing until the jelly reaches a HARD rolling boil - this is crucial - once the jelly is boiling hard and continues to boil with constant stirring, THEN start timing your one minute. This will allow the pectin to properly activate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was very good, and I have been able to do a variety of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Love it! Used 1 box pectin (1.75 oz.) and my bottle of wine was just a hair short of 3.5 cups. Set up perfectly! I'm not a wine drinker and have several bottles that I have received as gifts. I've kept them temperature controlled so they would stay nice, for when I have 'wine' guests. This is an awesome way to use that wine! I'm going to use it all on jam! Well, most of it ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i had no problem with it setting. i have followed the recipe exactly though, i would think with wine jelly there's no wiggle room. i have made it many times with all different kinds of wine and it's always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States