Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious made it with a Merlot and Champagne turned out perfect. Just make sure the dry pectin is 2 oz. Sure jell is 1.75 will need to add a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Awesome recipe. I used leftover wine (I know--- leftover wine....how is this possible???). But anyway, I always put any leftover wine in ice cube trays and freeze until ready to use as boullion cubes or for whatever. This time I used my frozen red wine cubes to make this recipe and it came out great! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made my first batch last night and I'm getting ready to make a second batch today. The final product was much sweeter than I expected but still tasty. I tried infusing the wine with pink peppercorns and dried tart cherries before making the jelly, and I can taste the cherries in the final jelly but definitely need more peppercorns. Mine set up perfectly with no problems. For those who had problems with the jelly setting, I would say #1 don't increase the proportions, if you want more jelly make separate batches, as proportion of ingredients is crucial. #2 don't try switching liquid for dry pectin, #3 make adjustments for altitude as necessary, and #4 don't start timing until the jelly reaches a HARD rolling boil - this is crucial - once the jelly is boiling hard and continues to boil with constant stirring, THEN start timing your one minute. This will allow the pectin to properly activate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was very good, and I have been able to do a variety of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Love it! Used 1 box pectin (1.75 oz.) and my bottle of wine was just a hair short of 3.5 cups. Set up perfectly! I'm not a wine drinker and have several bottles that I have received as gifts. I've kept them temperature controlled so they would stay nice, for when I have 'wine' guests. This is an awesome way to use that wine! I'm going to use it all on jam! Well, most of it ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
i had no problem with it setting. i have followed the recipe exactly though, i would think with wine jelly there's no wiggle room. i have made it many times with all different kinds of wine and it's always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Wonderfully easy recipe. First batch made with White Zin. Turned out wonderfully and such a pretty pink. Next batch will be with a Cab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZI42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Incredibly easy and a great way to use undrinkable or left-over wine. I had a bottle of Merlot that I couldn't drink and it made some wonderful jelly. I only used a 1.75oz packet of the powder pectin, and it set just fine, but for the second boil I made sure it got up to 219 or 220 degrees to make sure the pectin activated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I would give this five stars for taste, but I ran into something that was a real pain. I used white port wine to make the jelly and it ended up having black flecks in it. We read that this may have been pectin that overheated when it hit the bottom of the pan. It seems that if you heat the wine and lemon juice first and then gradually sprinkle in the pectin, it will dissolve before it hits the bottom of the pan, eliminating the black flecks. Next time though, I'm going to use red wine! That said, it tasted marvelous and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
An excellent recipe I come back to again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htucker71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States