Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Was not very happy when it was ready to be but in the jars. Smelled Boooooozy and did not seem to have a lot of flavor. But I already had everything ready to go so I went forward. After it set however was a different story, loved it and the flavor even with my very cheap white wine was great. I did use the 2 packs of liquid pectin and it set up very quickly! My sugar did clump and had clumps even after cooking but I just strained through a tea strainer and everything seemed fine. Can't wait to do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
i followed directions exactly, except that i blended three kinds of red wine. jelly set up exactly as it should in rapid time. tastes exquisite. going try putting some up in short stemmed wine glasses and seal w parafin along w crackers and brie as xmas gifts for friends and neighbors,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I've made this recipe several times with tremendous success! I give this as a gift with cream cheese and crackers, and everyone raves about how good it is. I agree...just delicious and so creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe is amazing...Sooo easy, and super delicious. I used (1) packet of liquid pectin, and it turned out perfect! I am really excited to try making this with white wine, and even perhaps champagne. I made it with a Raspberry wine that I didn't care for, and it was just fantastic. What a perfect way to use of wine that you don't really care to drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRBSHEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Centreville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
So easy and quick to make! Great way to use up the "cheap" wine that you don't have the stomach to drink. Tastes great as a condiment with pork or lamb and is wonderful on top of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Wow!! What a great surprise! This jelly is fantastic! And how easy! I can't wait to try all different kinds of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Wine jelly is delicious whatever wine you use. I prefer white to eat on toast or fruit. Wine jellys are great for begginers to start with. They can be finished under an hour and there is no fruit preparation which can take hours to make. We happen to make our own wine so it's fairly cheap too. When making white wine jelly, I reduce my wine in half by boiling it on the stove to increase the flavor. You can add herbs of choice savoury or perfumed, or citrus rinds when reducing to flavour your jelly. Strain before adding sugar and pectin. This recipe is a larger size than most wine jellys, for those that use liquid certo pectin packets I recomend two. I made two batches with one each but the jelly was on the soft side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Fabulous recipe!!! I used White Zinfandel and the 1.75 oz. dry pectin. The jelly worked perfectly and the flavor is outstanding. The recipe yielded me 6 half-pint jars, which I waterbathed for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Awesome recipe! I made it on the weekend using fruit wines: Raspberry, Cherry and Rhubarb-Apple from a local winery. They turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I have made jelly before and there are some things that can alter the set-up of the jelly. I am wondering if it makes a difference in the type of wine- maybe due to sugar content?? This recipe sounds really good. **I just made this recipe today and used white merlot. I also used the boxed, powder pectin (1.75 oz). The jelly set up nicely- right away and was tasty (pretty sweet, but a nice wine flavor- good with cream cheese). It is very pretty and will make a great tasting, nice looking,and unique gift! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States