Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Fabulous recipe!!! I used White Zinfandel and the 1.75 oz. dry pectin. The jelly worked perfectly and the flavor is outstanding. The recipe yielded me 6 half-pint jars, which I waterbathed for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Awesome recipe! I made it on the weekend using fruit wines: Raspberry, Cherry and Rhubarb-Apple from a local winery. They turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I have made jelly before and there are some things that can alter the set-up of the jelly. I am wondering if it makes a difference in the type of wine- maybe due to sugar content?? This recipe sounds really good. **I just made this recipe today and used white merlot. I also used the boxed, powder pectin (1.75 oz). The jelly set up nicely- right away and was tasty (pretty sweet, but a nice wine flavor- good with cream cheese). It is very pretty and will make a great tasting, nice looking,and unique gift! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was good, but I was a bit disappointed, I don't know what was expecting, just wasn't WOWED like I thought I would be from the reviews. I used Cab/Merlot blend. Made as gifts, I will see how the reviews come back. Will definately try again with a different wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was very good, I gave some away as gifts and people loved it! I did serve it with cream cheese and crackers which works well. I will be giving more for Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe -- made it last week for Christmas gifts and I'm already making my second batch. Will use again and again, experimenting with different wines, of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was a great recipe! I used a cheap merlot...flavor was great! I tripled the recipe and had no problems. I used 1.75 oz. packages of powdered fruit pectin. No problems setting up. It was definetely a jelly consistency. I think next time I will try it with the low sugar pectin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Brookline, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Yummy! Mine came out perfect. The thing I noticed is the recipe calls for a 2 oz packet of pectin, the packets I have are 1.75 oz, so I added a little extra and the consistency is wonderful. I used my favorite (inexpensive) brand of Shiraz. I can't wait to try it with a white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I used half cheap merolot and half cheap lambrusco and had fabulous results! I used the powder pectin as stated in the recipe and my jelly was perfect. I have no idea what happened with other reviewers... the only thing I did differently was that i put mine in plastic containers and placed it in the fridge because I don't know how to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I read where other reviewers had trouble with the consistency of this recipe so the first time used the liquid pectin and doubled it. Boy, it set right up! It didn't seem to affect the taste as far as I can tell. The second batch, I only used one envelope of the liquid. It had set up by the next morning. In both cases I used a Chablis. The jelly tastes just like white grapes. It's very pretty and quite tasty. I'll be making some more to give in gift baskets. This time I'm going to use a Rose`. I really like this recipe. I'm new to jelly making. This recipe gives a lot of room to experiment. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States