Wine Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! We had chicken, shrimp, scallops, carrots and mushrooms (we also tried broccoli, but it did not mix well at ALL). The carrots and chicken seemed to best absorb the flavor. If you don't have a fondue pot, just use a crock pot at the highest setting - we did it, and it worked just fine. I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the amount of wine and spices (except the salt - I only used a single portion of salt and garlic salt, and then plain celery seed (3/4 of the amount of celery salt called for) and a crushed garlic clove).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The idea is nice, but the flavor was weak. We added 2 tbs of salted butter and several cloves of garlic and liked it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Tried this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! We thought it was especially delicious with shrimp. Tip - double the recipe and add extra wine or chicken stock if it's going to be served for a long period of time - the wine alone will evaporate fairly quickly. Making this again for Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is amazing! The chicken was so flavorful;no dipping sauce needed. I didn't particularly like the shrimp but I'm not a big shrimp fan. I needed to double the recipe to have enough broth to cook our food in a 3 quart pot. I used pinot grigio and it was great. Definitely worth spending ding the money on the spices. I've had 2 people ask me for the recipe because they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Best fondue recipe we've ever had! We had friends over for New Year's Eve and everyone loved it. Beef tenderloin chunks were the best, scallops and shrimp picked up a hit of cinnamon and the chicken was fabulous. We had a swiss cheese one going as well for veggies. Great meal, low in cals, and our house doesn't smell like oil this morning. We followed the recipe to a tee. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Oh so very good! I made this for an at-home date night with my husband using beef and shrimp with the "Beef Fondue with Sauces" recipe from this site, as well as a sweet and spicy chili sauce that came with the fondue pot. Based on others' suggestions, I made a double batch, which was good, because we were able to keep adding the fondue as it cooked off. I love that this was so light, so easy and so tasty. Much better than just hot oil or even a cheese sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend on Valentine's Day, it was delicious!!! I skipped the cinnamon but other than that we both absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The only thing i had an issue with was the amount it created. I would reccomend doubling or trippling the recipie. I made this for my boyfriend and I for his b-day and ended up adding mojo sauce to it because there was not enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Really good wine fondue. One batch was not enough and it evaporated quickly. Next time I will at least double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is an excellent fondue for a main course and much healthier than oil. I left the spices in and had no problems. We also added more wine after the first round had cooked down and we were still eating - works just fine. My favorites for this are scallops, shrimp, mushrooms, zucchini, chicken and potatoes (in that order). The seafood is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States