Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I like this recipe, I did not have red wine but I did have an open bottle of white zin so I used that, I knew it would not have as strong a flavor profile so I also added juice & zest from a meyer lemon & about a tablespoon of chopped rosemary. I was great, I love the texture of these cookies, almost a biscuit...on my baking list today for friends tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
these were quite good and simple tasting.i used only brown sugar and added two extra tablespoons of honey, used some whole wheat flour instead of all white flour to make it a bit healthier. Theyre nice and crispy the smaller you make them(bite-sized). I also added vanilla and cinnamon which helped alot with the flavouring. i would make these again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp lemon zest, rolled them into little balls, then in sugar, Gently pressed them with a sugared fork. Baked on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very good cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I had no idea what a wine cookie was so I don't know if my cookies from this recipe turned out correctly. They've got a subtle wine taste and aren't too sweet. I think they turned out bigger than 2 inches and I was expecting something more like an amaretti single bite. The dough is very sticky so I was unable to make pinwheels and just plopped small dough pieces into the sigar topping bowl. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I hate to give a negative review, but these cookies didn't do it for me. In 25+ years of Christmas cookie baking and trying countless recipes, I've never thrown away a batch of cookies, but these were the first. I'd like to try again with a sweeter wine and more sugar, but I have so many other recipes that I love. Good thing there were so few ingredients. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zia Ravyn G.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I use 1/4 cup of honey instead of 3 tablespoons of white sugar, add more flour to dough if too sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I thought it had no flavor maybe I needed to use more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Made this today to use leftover red wine I had on hand. It is a quick and tasty cookie for such an easy recipe. Would go great with hot tea in the afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wasn't sure what to expect with these. They did not smell like cookies at all while they were baking. The dough is pretty soft to work with and when rolling into a log shape they didn't hold the shape very well. And after they cooked I thought the little pinwheels were very unappetizing. Towards the end, I just formed balls and smashed them flat, then dreged them in sugar. As for flavor, they remind me of a little biscuit more than a cookie. Interesting to try, but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States