Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I guess because I'm not Italian that I didn't like these cookies. The taste of the red wine was very over powering and yet the cookie itself is bland for my taste. This reminded me of the beer bread recipe I have, but the beer bread, I think, is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
The easiest cookie recipe ever. Although to improve the flavor slightly I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a half of a lemon peel chopped finely. Half the batch I coated with regular sugar like the recipe suggested, the other half I added a little color and coated them with small, round, colored sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
i wasnt sure if i was going to like these so i divided the mixture by 3 so i would only make a few. I had to add a bit more wine. They smelt like a bakery when cooking. They came out weird looking and very purple. They were a bit bland but quite sweet. i have never had wine cookies before so im not sure if thats how they were supposed to taste. i think ill have to eat a few more to see if i like them or not! by far the strangest cookies ive ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
These were delicious. I made half the recipe because I wasn't sure I'd like them, but kept the amount of sugar the same. The one thing I did not do, however, is grease the pan, which I *strongly* recommend! They were impossible to get off the pan without breaking them. Even my children loved these mildly sweet, yeasty tasting cookies. I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
tasty, not too sweet EASIEST cookies i've ever made and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
These are perfect! Anyone who says they're not a cookie doesn't know what a wine cookie is supposed to be. No, it's not a Chipsahoy, but it's an excellent wine cookie... easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Strange purple color. Tastes like bread. I wouldn't call it a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
These had no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
This recipe did not turn out for me. It tasted like when I make sourdough bread and it does not rise properly. I even tried adding a little salt to the dough but it didn't help. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
These cookies are fantastic! They are light and crisp and even PURPLE!! They are just like the ones that my grandma used to make when she came here from Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States