Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Okay, I really like these cookies, which is different bc I'm not a big crispy cookie fan. However, I really don't like stuff that is way too sweet and these really aren't. I love how cute they are too. I'm not sure I did it correctly since the other photos don't look like mine, but I rolled the dough then rolled into little pinwheel shapes. I baked for 20 min, not 25, which was perfect for my oven. They turn out very cute, very small, and very delicious. I have to agree with another reviewer who said that rolling in the sugar is important--gives just the right amount of sweetness. I also like the hint of wine flavor. All, in all, a nice little cookie that's perfect with tea. A great way to use up the rest of my red wine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
Easy, tasty, light and great with coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
These are perfect! Anyone who says they're not a cookie doesn't know what a wine cookie is supposed to be. No, it's not a Chipsahoy, but it's an excellent wine cookie... easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
tasty, not too sweet EASIEST cookies i've ever made and different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
The easiest cookie recipe ever. Although to improve the flavor slightly I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and a half of a lemon peel chopped finely. Half the batch I coated with regular sugar like the recipe suggested, the other half I added a little color and coated them with small, round, colored sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Fantastic... Just remember to coat the sugar on both sides... for extra crunchiness, make it thinner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This is a very good Italian cookie. I thought it wouldn't be sweet enough because there isn't much sugar in the recipe, but it did have a nice sweetness to it. I used a Chianti wine (very dry) and I rolled the cookies in turbinado (raw) sugar instead of granulated sugar. My cookies were slightly purple before cooking. Then they turned a nice golden brown while they were baking. The taste reminds me of a really good sweet bread. This is a very unique cookie and I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eddie G
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used a hearty zinfandel and made the cookies a little larger than suggested (about 3 inches in diameter and 1 inch in height). The end result was more like a sweet bread than a cookie, which I absolutely loved...even fresh out of the oven! Great with coffee, but even better with the rest of my zin :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I also had trouble being able to roll it out and make them into spirals the first time because they were so sticky. However, the second time I made the recipe, I made the full recipe instead of halving it, and I didn't have too much trouble with the rolling. These cookies taste divine - like sugared yeast cookies! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Okay i loooooove wine so i had to try these! These are good but dont get your taste buds ready for a "cookie" think of a scone type baked good. Not too sweet but still great with a glass of wine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil creamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States